Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. I’ve seen several friendly bloggers take part and it looked like so much fun that I decided to join in! This week’s list is Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read. Below is my list.

1. The Maze Runner by James Dashner

The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, #1)

I’m not sure why, but I haven’t been able to talk myself into it. I’ve checked it out from the library a couple of different times. I even checked out the movie version from the library and never watched it.

2. Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

Big Little Lies

I want to read this book. Really, I do. Both my sister, mother and several friends have told me it’s great. It’s another one I’ve checked out a couple of times from the library but then ran out of time to read it before I had to return in. I will read it — some time.

3. The Nightengale by Kristin Hannah

The Nightingale

This is another one I do want to read. I love Kristin Hannah’s books. I just haven’t been in the right mood for this one, I guess. Friends have told me it’s really good but emotional.

4. Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Delirium (Delirium, #1)

I know it’s going to be good. I’ve enjoyed all the other books I’ve read by Ms. Oliver. I just haven’t gotten to it yet.

5. Wild by Cheryl Strayed

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail

Okay, I feel super guilty about this one. My mom so lovingly gave me a paperback copy for my birthday a couple years ago. I haven’t read it yet. I want to, but the first time I opened the cover I noticed how small the print it. I don’t know why that made me put it down, but it did. I promise I’m going to read it.

6. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

Rebecca

Several people have told me I wouId love this book. It just doesn’t pop in my mind when I’m thinking of what to read next.

7. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Outlander (Outlander, #1)

I know, I know. It’s a travesty. Everyone I know that’s read it loves it. At this point, I’m a little intimidated by the length of the series. I would want to read it all at once and it would take forever. I’m just not up to the commitment at this point. I will read it at some point.

8. Life of Pi by Yann Martel

Life of Pi

My college roommate read it years ago and raved about it. I bought it on my Kindle a few years ago. It’s sitting there waiting.

9. Room by Emma Donoghue

Room

I don’t know. Since I’ve had a child, there are some books I’m just not sure if I can read. This is one of those. I know it’s good, but I’m not sure if I’m going to be able to read it until my child is grown.

10. The Giver by Lois Lowery

The Giver (The Giver, #1)

I’m not sure why I haven’t read this one yet. It sounds good and I was planning on reading it before the movie came out. I guess I just never got to it.

Is there a hyped book that you haven’t read? Let me know in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

  1. I tried to read the Maze Runner but I couldn’t get into it. I was offered free tickets to a prescreening of the movie, and was determined to read it before I went. I hardly got half way through. I didn’t enjoy it at all, although I know so many people who have and they love it. I thought the movie was fantastic, but the slang in the books made it so confusing. I felt like I was reading a classic book from the 50’s.

    Like

Leave a Reply

