A Good Killing

A Good Killing (Anna Curtis, #4)A Good Killing by Allison Leotta

Publication Date: May 12, 2015

Publisher: Touchstone

Synopsis:

Anna Curtis has returned to her Michigan home town to help her sister, Jody. Jody has been wrongly accused of murdering the beloved high school football coach. Anna’s doing everything she can, even enlisting the help of her childhood friend, Cooper, to prove Jody’s innocence.

Proving Jody’s innocence will not be as easy as Anna hoped, though. Jody’s not being very cooperative and it’s well known that Jody had a thing for the married coach. The entire town thinks she’s guilty and they’re going out of their way to make things uncomfortable for the Curtis sisters.

My rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A Good Killing begins with Jody describing to Anna her first interaction with Coach Fowler. The chapter was three and a half pages long and I was completely hooked by the end of that fourth page. The story didn’t slow down from there. It raced, alternating between Anna’s current POV and sprinklings of Jody recounting her relationship with Coach Fowler to Anna, to the conclusion.

I couldn’t put down A Good Killing. I read it in one night. I loved everything about it: the writing, the characters, the bit of romance, the way the mystery slowly unravelled and the way the truth presented itself. Allison Leotta is one of the best crime writers I’ve ever read.

I also loved that even though this is the fourth book in the Anna Curtis series, it was easily read as a standalone novel. There were references to Anna’s recently called off engagement and characters that I didn’t really know, but they didn’t take over the story or bother me at all. In fact, they just made me curious about the other books in the series. I’m looking forward to reading more of the Anna Curtis series.

I highly recommend A Good Killing to anyone who loves a great crime mystery.

Thank you to Touchstone for opportunity to read and honestly review A Good Killing.

Other books in the Anna Curtis series:

Law of Attraction (Anna Curtis, #1)  Discretion (Anna Curtis, #2)  Speak of the Devil (Anna Curtis, #3)

5 thoughts on “A Good Killing

  1. Pingback: The CRAP (To Read) List | a novel glimpse

  2. I keep seeing this book everywhere, but I haven’t read any of the others in the series so I never bothered to check into it. I’m glad you mentioned that it can be read as a standalone, though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It can definitely be. There was really only one or two mentions/relationships from the previous books and they didn’t matter much to this book. If my TBR list wasn’t so long, I’d go back and read the others. I liked it a lot.

      Like

  3. I love this book and it was also the first book in the series that I read. I ended up winning a giveaway by Leotta and got the first books all signed and I really loved them all just as much as this one. I definitely recommend going back and reading them!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

