A Summer Like No Other

A Summer Like No Other (Broken Dreams) by Elodie Nowodazkij

Publication Date: July 30, 2015

Synopsis:

Emilia “Em” Moretti and her family used to spend their summers with friends in the Hamptons. This year, she’s stuck in New York practicing her dancing, searching for her birth parents, missing her friends and wishing life could go back to before her father was fired from his job.

The worst thing about being stuck in New York, though; is the fact that she won’t get to spend the summer with her brother’s best friend, Nick. Em’s been in love with Nick forever and those summers in the Hamptons meant spending lots of time together.To Em’s surprise, Nick is staying in New York this summer. She can feel the chemistry between them, but she can also tell Nick is trying to fight it. Em is sure it has to do with her brother.

Nick wants to be with Em so badly, but he promised her brother he wouldn’t do anything that could hurt Em. Nick knows his playboy ways will hurt her, so he’s keeping this as platonic as he can — or trying to.

Then, Nick finds out some things that could help Em in the search for her birth parents. The information he gives her, turns Em’s world upside down. As they continue to look for answers, they try to keep their summer relationship cool and casual. But that’s easier said than done.

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

** I received an electronic copy of A Summer Like No Other from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

I loved the description of this novella. I love books where a girl falls for her brother’s best friend. I only wish the story would have been as cute as the description. I wanted a little more fun and less drama. It felt more like a mystery than a romance.

To be honest, the story was good but it was missing something for me. I think that might have been more of Em and Nick’s shared history. There was mention of previous attraction and chemistry but it would have been nice to have actual flashbacks or something. It seemed like I was told how attracted they were to each other more than they demonstrated it.

I also had a little bit of a hard time connecting with Em. I get she wanted to find her birth parents but it bothered me that it took half the book to know why. I kept wondering what the big deal was. I wish the mystery behind it all would have been brought up earlier.

I really liked Nick, though. He had a ton of charisma and was exactly the type of guy a little sister should fall for.

Overall, I thought it was a good novella. It left me wanting to know what would happen next.

Other books in the Broken Dreams series:

  

One thought on “A Summer Like No Other

  1. I have to agree with you. The whole falling in love with brother’s best friend is a trope I am really into. However, you need some backstory to actually link the characters together. They can’t just come together and everything work out. You don’t feel the chemistry that way (unless the writer is really good.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

