Kick Push

Kick Push (The Road Series #2) by Jay McLean

Publication Date: August 4, 2015

Synopsis: 

At seventeen, skateboarder Josh Warden became a single dad. He gave up his dreams to take care of his son. It was a struggle. Now, three years later, he’s finally in a good place. He’s got a good job, a great place to stay and he’s got Tommy.

Then she shows up. His neighbor’s daughter, Becca. She’s beautiful and mysterious. Josh can’t seem to stay away from her. He should. He’s got enough on his plate being a single dad. And Becca…Well, Becca’s got some issues of her own. He’d love to ask her about them–if she would talk.

My rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Ugh. I loved this book, but I hated this book. Does that mean I just liked this book? I don’t know. I’m having a hard time deciding how I actually feel about it. It’s making it really hard to write a good review of it. I think I’m going to just bullet what I liked and didn’t like.

The great things about this book:

  • Tommy was stinkin’ cute. He had super powers that would make anyone adore him.
  • Hunter’s humor and support of Josh. Their conversations were hilarious. I would have liked more of him in this book.
  • The skateboarding. It was just super cool.
  • Photography aspect of the story. I love pictures of my loved ones, so this hit home for me.
  • Last (but not least), Josh. What I loved most about this book was him. He was just a stand up guy. No matter what problems he and Becca faced, his reactions were all simply because he loved her. He may have been a jerk at times, but he always made sure she knew he loved her.

The thing that drove me nuts:

  • Becca’s hidden past. It drug out FOREVER. Seriously, for most of the book. The first half of the book, it was mysterious and intriguing. The second half, it was like come on already! Just tell me! I started to think that no matter what it was, I was just going to write her off as weird. Which wouldn’t have been very nice of me because there was such tragedy in her life. Once I knew, I could identify with her actions better.
  • The ending. This one is my own fault. It’s a cliffhanger and I had no idea. I didn’t notice the (Kick Push #1) after the title on Goodreads. (Which is confusing because Jay McLean has Kick Push listed as The Road Series – Book 2 on her website.) But honestly, I would have rather seen Josh and Becca’s story wrap up in one book. Mostly because I’m still not 100% digging Becca. I am curious to see what will happen to them (or mainly Josh), so I will read the next book. Maybe Becca will grow on me now I know her backstory. I hope so.

So, would I recommend reading this book? I’m going to say yes. I have decided the positives outweigh the negatives. So much of the story is Josh and Tommy. It’s just too cute and special of a story to pass up. And I’m going to go back and read Where the Road Takes Me. I need more Hunter. I know I have it on my Kindle and never read it. Shame on me! I need to update my TBR (CRAP) list!

Other books in The Road series:

2 thoughts on “Kick Push

  1. Pingback: More Than This | a novel glimpse

  2. Pingback: Review & Release Day Blitz: Coast by Jay McLean |

Leave a Reply

