ARC Review: Your Voice Is All I Hear

Your Voice Is All I Hear by Leah Scheier

Publication Date: September 1, 2015

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Synopsis:

April’s never been popular. She’s always been happy living in the shadow of her best friend. When her best friend moves before their senior year, April’s left friendless.

To April’s surprise, she’s not a loner for long. New student, Jonah, takes an interest in her immediately. April can’t believe it. Jonah’s not only smart, but cute! All of the girls in her class are interested in him, but he only wants to be friends with April.

April and Jonah’s friendship quickly becomes romance. As April gets closer to Jonah, she begins to notice things she hasn’t before. Jonah’s obsessed with cell phones and people trying to get them. He hears things April can’t.

April doesn’t want to believe there’s anything wrong with the boyfriend she loves, but she can’t deny it when Jonah’s committed to a psych ward. His diagnosis: schizophrenia. April’s determined to help Jonah through this tough time. It’s what girlfriends do, but will her love be enough?

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This is a tough review for me to write. Even though I’m giving Your Voice Is All I Hear 4 stars, I feel like a lot of this review is going to sound negative. It’s not because I hated the story. Schizophrenia is a tough subject and I think Leah Schreier did an excellent job portraying it in a way that was identifiable. It was more the main character that I had a hard time with.

When I started reading Your Voice Is All I Hear, I didn’t like April. I have to admit it was because I didn’t want to be able to identify with her friendlessness, but I could. It may not have been in high school, but I remember a time in elementary school when I felt friendless. It was uncomfortable to feel those feelings again through April’s eyes. It was necessary for the story, but I still didn’t like it.

Things got a little better once April met Jonah. Their budding friendship turned romance was sweet. But then the voices in Jonah’s head started. I felt horrible for him and what he was going through. April really drove me crazy, though. Her denial was understandable and real but I got so frustrated with her! I just wanted her to admit Jonah wasn’t okay and help him get the help he needed. Ugh! It made me not like her.

That being said, the story really was great. The prologue captured my attention right away. The entire story felt real, like it could happen. I absolutely loved how it ended. If someone was looking for a good novel with a character dealing with schizophrenia, I would suggest this one.

**A digital copy of Your Voice Is All I Hear as provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Your Voice Is All I Hear

  1. I had such a hard time writing the review for this, too, but it wasn’t because the book was bad. The book was pretty good, it’s just, as you said…the main character wasn’t always easy to like, and it was hard getting attached to her.

    If you’re interested in other books dealing with schizophrenia, let me suggest Made You Up, by Francesca Zappia, if you haven’t already read that one. It was also a great book!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

