Tales of a Book Bag: Kauai, Hawaii

20150815_151330[1]

Tunnels Beach, Kauai

The final trip my book bag took this summer was to Kauai. It was the first time in almost 10 years that my family took a “big” vacation. We went with two other families. It was hot, humid, beautiful and a ton of fun. I managed to get a little reading done on my trip between the beach and the pool. 😉

Sunrise in Kapa'a

Sunrise in Kapa’a

We were able to visit several different beaches: Tunnels Beach, Rock Quarry Beach, Hideaway Beach, Poipu Beach Park, Lydgate Beach Park, Lumahai Beach and Hanalei Bay. Each was beautiful in its own way. My favorite beach was Rock Quarry Beach. It had a river that meets up with the ocean. The area where they combined made a nice little pool to hang out in. It was also very beautiful.

Hideaway Beach, Princeville

Hideaway Beach, Princeville

Hideaway Beach in Princeville was also a favorite, but the hike down to it was pretty sketchy. Actually, the hike up was worse than down.  It’s very steep with a system of handrails and ropes to guide you up and down. There were also a ton of mosquitoes hiding in the shade. But it was easy to snorkel and find fish there.

IMG_3766

Lumahai Beach

At Lumahai Beach, you can jump off tall rocks into a pool of water The ocean waves sweep you back to shore. Both my husband and daughter tried this. I was too chicken.There is also a small pool of water on the rocks to wade in. It’s the perfect size for small kids.

We didn’t actually visit the Kilauea Lighthouse, but we did stop to take some pretty pictures of it on our way back from Hideaway Beach.

Kilauea Lighthouse

Kilauea Lighthouse

One of my favorite days in Kauai was spent with just my little family. We drove south from where we staying in Kapa’a and stopped to visit a couple of waterfalls and have lunch in Poipu. It was fun to hear my daughter’s exclamations over the beauty she saw.

It was a very fun vacation. I know my book bag enjoyed it. 😉 I hope you enjoy the pictures from Kauai. I’m hoping to have more Tales of a Book Bag posts this winter when the weather changes and there are new sites to see!

Wailua Falls

Wailua Falls

Check out all of the other places my book bag has been this summer:

Banks Lake, WA

Rimrock Lake, WA

Lake Tapps, WA

4 thoughts on “Tales of a Book Bag: Kauai, Hawaii

Leave a Reply

