I went on a bender and now I’ve got a hangover.

Maybe I should clarify that a little…

I went on a book bender and now I’ve got a book hangover.

(I wouldn’t want you all to think I’ve been drinking myself silly over here. Although, I think that hangover would be faster to cure than this type of hangover.)

A book hangover. It’s something we readers are constantly dealing with. How do we get over books that we love so much, leave us emotionally spent or reeling from surprise?There’s no magic potion, no concoction made by our friends to ease the pain.

My book hangover began when I read More Than This by Jay McLean for a Goodreads buddy read. I loved that book, but it got me all worked up emotionally. It also ended in a cliffhanger I couldn’t ignore. I had to read the next book. I downloaded More Than Her and read it immediately. It wasn’t as amazing as the first book, but it was good and it ended in yet another cliffhanger. So, what do I do? I go and download the next two books in the series. I read the entire series in a weekend.

After four very emotional books, I wasn’t quite sure what to read. Nothing really sounded good. I was too emotionally burnt out from the More Than series. Then, the same Goodreads group started to read a Ginger Scott series. I thought it would be a good way to move on from the funk I was in after the More Than series. I mean, I love Ginger Scott’s books. I wasn’t thinking about the fact that I was heading into emotional book territory again. All of Ginger Scott’s stories draw me in because of the emotions she is able to give to her characters. It’s part of the reason I love her writing. So, I read Waiting on the Sidelines and its sequel Going Long. I loved them and would highly suggest them, but I was still hung over! It was almost as if I was pulled deeper into the end of book funk.

So what am I doing now to get over the hangover? I’ve decided to go back to my trusty Kindle and try reading some books I already have on it. I’ve been focusing on books that sounds a little lighter or funny. I hope it will help me out of my book hangover and get me ready to read some really good emotional stuff. So far, it seems to be working. 😉

How do you get over a book hangover? Do you have a great idea I should try? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “I went on a bender and now I’ve got a hangover.

  1. I’ve had a book hangover for like a week ever since I finished the Weight of Feathers. I just haven’t wanted to read since I finished it, because I couldn’t imagine any other book coming close to how great that one was (still having trouble with it). I took a few days off from reading altogether and bought a coloring book and some colored pencils, and it really helped to clear my mind a little and help me get back into wanting to read!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

