How I Read Tag

recite-1ck089p

The How I Read Tag is a tag that (gasp!) asks questions about how I read. Be prepared to be wowed. 😉

Thank you to Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts for tagging me for this fun tag!


How did you find out about new books to read?

I find books to read in many different ways. I like to read the book reviews in the BookPage magazine I pick up at my local library. Sometimes, friends tell me about books they’ve read or been told to read. I see books on Goodreads that friends have read or a group I’m in suggests reading. I’ve also been known to find random books on bookstore shelves. One of my favorite ways to find a new book/author is to Google “if I like ________’s books I’ll like”. Believe it or not I’ve found some great ones that way.


How did you get into reading?

Well, my mom used to read a lot to me as a child. I specifically remember being read Little House on the Prairie. I also remember loving The Boxcar Children series and The Baby-sitters Club series. In junior high, my best friend and I loved reading books by Christopher Pike and R.L. Stine. After college, my mom gave me my first Nora Roberts book and I read all of her books that came out after that. But I started reading the most after I had my daughter. It’s such a great escape from the day to day realities of being a parent.


How has your taste in books changed since you got older?

It’s definitely become more romance driven. I think I’ve lost my imagination a bit because it’s a lot harder to read fantasy type stuff than it used to be.


How often do you buy books?

Way too often. (At least, that’s what my husband tells me!) I try to get most of my books from the library or on the cheap (Thanks, Bookbub!). If it’s an author I absolutely love I will buy books at full price. I have to be careful, though. If I spend too much in a month I definitely hear about it.


How did you get into book reviewing?

When I first joined a book group, I signed up for Book Movement. I started rating and kind of reviewing the books I was reading. Then, a friend introduced me to Goodreads and I went through and rated books for a while. I loved being able to see all of the reviews on there, so I started leaving them.

As for review blogging, several friends encouraged me for a couple of years to start my own blog before I worked up the courage to go for it.


How do you react when you don’t like the end of a book?

Huh. I’m not sure. I guess I may not read the next book by the author. I think the entire book would have to be completely horrible for me to really complain about it.


How often do you sneak peak at the ending to see if there is a happy ending?

The only time I sneak a peak at an ending is if it’s a paperback/hardback book and (1) if I have lost interest in the book or (2) I don’t like what I’m reading.


Tag, you’re it:

Amy @ Curiouser and Curiouser

Bookmarked

Brittany @ brittanymariereads

The Candid Cover

Dimple @ Entralling Dimple

Erika & Miedjel @ Partners in Books

Illeana @ Illeanas Book Reviews

Jessica @ Mud and Stars

Kelly @ Here’s to Happy Endings

Maria @ Marwhal

Pooja @ Dreamy Romance Book Blog

Skylee @ The Night Girl

Syc @ The Lit(erature) Mermaid

11 thoughts on “How I Read Tag

  1. Pingback: ‘How I Read’ Tag | Curiouser and curiouser

  2. Pingback: How I Read Tag | The Lit Mermaid

  3. Pingback: How I Read Tag | Mud and Stars

Leave a Reply

