Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Bookish Things I Want to Quit Or Have Quit

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is Ten Bookish Things I Want to Quit Or Have Quit. Below the my ten bookish things I want to quit.


1. Reading every book an author releases in a series.

I’m not talking about series where the story continues from one book to the next. I’m talking about series where each book is about a new character (usually met earlier in the series) and a new situation. I love series like this, but the problem is that after six or seven books, the series usually starts to become lackluster. Instead of getting a fresh new story, the updates from previous characters start to take over. I like getting updates, but when they take over a new, fresh story I get bored.

2. Finishing books I’m not enjoying.

Unless it’s a book a committed to reading, I’m going to stop finishing books that I don’t like. I know that’s hard for a lot of people because they feel a need to finish. I’m in that boat as well, but time is too precious to be reading something I can’t stand.

3. Reviewing every book I read.

I need to remind myself I’m blogging because I want to share my love of books with everyone. It’s not a job. It’s for fun. No one cares how many reviews I post. No one will know if I don’t review a book I’ve read. Just have fun!

4. Continually reading books in the same genre.

Lately, I feel like my blog reviews are starting to get a little generic. I know it’s because I’ve been reading too many similar books and sequels. I admit I’ve been compulsively reading New Adult romances. I can’t help loving them, but I need to remember there’s other book genres I love out there. I need to broaden my horizons.

5. Not reading books I’ve requested from the library.

I hate admitting this. I request a lot of books from the library. More than half the time, I return them unread. The library books sit on my counter for the three weeks I can have them checked out while someone else is patiently waiting to do read them. It makes me feel guilty. I do want to read them, I just get sidetracked by other books.

6. Staying up too late reading.

This is a major problem for me. I read while my husband watches T.V. at night. I don’t pay attention to time. I want to go to bed at 10:00 pm, but I will stay up later reading if my husband stays up later watching T.V. I’ve been so tired lately because of this.

7. Reading in bed.

I need to stop reading in bed before I go to sleep. If I do, I can’t put the book down. This isn’t exactly the same as #6, but it’s close. Usually, once my husband turns off the T.V., I put away the book. Lately, I’ve been reading in bed after that.

8. Reading while eating.

My Kindle makes this too easy. I need to pay more attention to what I’m eating and my family during mealtimes.

9. Talking about books when I’m out with friends. 

But what else would I talk about, right? Lol. I guess I should really say I shouldn’t try to talk about books with people who aren’t readers.

10. Bookbub

Oh, man. I love Bookbub. I love getting a daily email with amazing book deals tailored by genres I love. The problem is, I can’t seem to say no. I’ve been downloading free/cheap books when I see a book or author I want to read. The books are starting to pile up on my Kindle. It’s not a bad problem to have, but I’m starting to feel like an ebook hoarder. It’s probably why those library books aren’t getting read. Oh, and it’s probably why I keep reading NA contemporary romances, too! Lol.


Do you share any of these bookish things to quit?

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Bookish Things I Want to Quit Or Have Quit

  1. I love your list Deanna! I can totally relate to almost all of them particularly “Reviewing EVERY book I read.” Ever since I started blogging, I don’t why but I I feel so obligated to post a review about the book I just read. If I didn’t make one, sometimes, I feel so guilty.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bookbub, lol! That website is so dangerous, haha. I remember I was downloading tons and tons of books because of that site! I’m trying to be more picky about it, because I ended up getting so many and then just deleting them later, because I knew I probably wouldn’t ever read them. I think I deleted about 50 books from my Kindle.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

