Before the Blog #13: Confess

Before the Blog is a weekly blog meme hosted by Karis Jacobstein over @ YA Litwit. It’s an opportunity to showcase books a blogger read and loved prior to starting their blog .  I love this idea because there are so many amazing books I haven’t reviewed on A Novel Glimpse because I read them a long time ago. The only rules to this meme are to answer the following questions about the book chosen to review:

  • Why did you choose this book? 
  • When did you read this book? 
  • Who would you recommend this book to? 

 Confess by Colleen Hoover

Publication Date: March 10, 2015

Publisher: Atria

Goodreads Synopsis: 

Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…


My rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Why did you choose this book? 

I haven’t reviewed a novel by Colleen Hoover because I read them all prior to beginning A Novel Glimpse. I don’t even know how to adequately express why you should pick up any Collen Not only is Colleen Hoover an amazing writer, but her stories are just…so cool. And emotional. She had my heart hooked from the prologue with Confess. I absolutely loved the (real life) confessions and Owen’s paintings aspect of the story. It was so unique and interesting. (I really wish I would have bought the paperback instead of the Kindle version so I could see them in color while I was reading.) And the ending –perfect! I feel like I could go on and on about Confess. I won’t, though, because I really think it’s one that the less you know going into it, the more fun it is to read.

When did you read this book? 

Honestly? The minute it came out.

Who would you recommend this book to?

Mature readers that enjoy a unique contemporary romance.

3 thoughts on “Before the Blog #13: Confess

  1. I have heard SO many good things about this book, but for some reason I just haven’t picked it up yet (I think it’s because everyone loved it so much that I’m afraid I’ll hate it or feel like I HAVE to love it or something). I might have to grab this one when I get the chance!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Best Books I Read In 2015 | a novel glimpse

Leave a Reply

