The Book Courtship Tag

recite-s4ygjf

Thanks to Erika @ Erika in Bookventureland for tagging me! The Book Courtship Tag was created by LovelyLikeLaura.


Phase 1 – Initial Attraction: A book that you bought because of the cover?

Under the Influence by L.B. Simmons popped up on a daily Bookbub email I got a while ago. The cover was so beautiful! I have to admit, I did read the blurb before buying it but the cover was what originally attracted me to the story. My review is here.


Phase 2 – First Impressions: A book that you got because of the summary?

The cover’s pretty but you can’t tell what it’s about just by looking at it. The summary on the back of the book is what made me purchase it. I loved it and now I’m a huge Karen White fan. My favorite part about The Beach Trees was the mystery in it. I knew who all the players were, but I didn’t know what happened. Here is what I had to say about it in one of my Before the Blog posts.


Phase 3 – Sweet Talk: A book with great writing?

Just one? Yikes! That’s a tough one. This time I’m going with Infinity + One by Amy Harmon. The writing was beautiful and clever. I loved it. I can’t wait to read more of her books.


Phase 4 – First Date: A first book of a series which made you want to pick up the rest of the series?

I love books by Ginger Scott. After I read This is Falling, I immediately read the next two books in the series. They were so good! You can find my review of the entire series here.


Phase 5 – Late Night Phone Calls: A book that kept you up all night?

Oh, man. Beth Flynn knows how to do the twist. And I’m not talking about the dance. I just had to know what was going to happen! I felt the exact same way with its sequel. If you’re curious, my review will tell you a little more about it.


Phase 6 – Always on my mind: A book you could not stop thinking about?

I think about Bright Side by Kim Holden all the time and it’s been a few months since I read it. It has such a great message. I want everyone I know to read it. (Have the tissues ready!) Ever since I read it, I’ve been trying to live my life to the fullest.


Phase 7 – Getting Physical: A book which you love the way it feels?

I love all the feels Colleen Hoover‘s books give me. I think Ugly Love might be my favorite. The raw emotion of it gets me.


Phase 8 – Meeting the parents: A book which you would recommend to your family and friends?

I’ve already forced them all to read Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. It’s another one that has shaped my thoughts on life and death.


Phase 9 – Thinking about the future: A book or series you know you will re read many times in the future?

 

I chose the Nine Minutes series by Beth Flynn because I will read it again before the third book comes out. I want it all fresh in my mind before the big conclusion. I know it’s going to blow my mind.


Phase 10 – Share the love: Who do you tag?

Aentee @ Read at Midnight

Arec @ Rainy Thursdays

Bea @ When Curiousity Killed the Cat

Brin @ Brin’s Book Blog

Carrie @ reading is my superpower

Dimple @ enthrallingdimple

Erika & Miedjel @ partnersinbooks

Jane @ greenish bookshelf

Jess @ Princessica of Books

Jordyn @ J. Bookish

Kelly @ Here’s to Happy Endings

Kristy @ Kristy Reads

Michalah @ Cape Town Dreamer

Michelle @ Mishi-Reads

Paige @ Page by Paige

Skylee @ The Night Girl

Stefanie @ yourdaughtersbookshelf

Sue @ Sue’s Reading Corner

Syc @ The Lit(erature) Mermaid

Tash @ Head In The Clouds, Heart In The Books

17 thoughts on “The Book Courtship Tag

    • You’re very welcome! I’m not sure how appropriate Ugly Love would be for you. You seem very mature for 12, but the subject matter might be too mature. I wouldn’t want my daughter to read it when she’s 12. You might want to save it until your late teens. The Slammed series might be more appropriate, if you haven’t read it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks SO MUCH for telling me this. There are so many occasions where I’ve read really inappropriate books for my age, that were really good, but I was a bit uncomfortable with some of the subject matters. As much as I wish we could, you can never un-read some, um….rather overly graphic scenes. Thanks for the recommendation! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh good! I didn’t want to offend you. I might hold off on Colleen Hoover for a few years. Slammed doesn’t have anything graphic in it, I don’t think but the other books in the series might. I think Kasie West’s books might be more appropriate, if you haven’t read them yet.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: The Book Courtship Tag | Rainy Thursdays

Leave a Reply

