Until Friday Night

Until Friday Night (The Field Party #1) by Abbi Glines

Publication Date: August 25, 2015

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Synopsis:

Maggie Carleton doesn’t speak. She hasn’t since she told the police her father killed her mother two years ago. Maggie chooses to stay silent to protect herself from the pain.

Football player West Ashby is cocky, popular and too cute for his own good. He has girls lining up for a chance to be with him. What people don’t know is that he uses it all as a front to hide his pain. West’s father is dying slowly of cancer. He doesn’t want anyone to know, so he hides it with football, beer and girls.

When Maggie moves to live with her aunt and uncle in Lawton, she has no plans to start talking. She’s content to hide her pain within herself. What Maggie doesn’t count on is West. When he takes his pain out on her at a post-game field party, it starts the beginning of a friendship. West needs someone to talk to, someone who won’t blab his problems around. Who better to confide in than a girl that doesn’t talk? But as Maggie gets closer to West, she feels the need to share her wisdom with him — by talking.


My review: 4.5 out of 5 stars


I loved this book. Really, truly loved it. Abbi Glines created a group of characters that were so much fun, even if the story was a little sad. I loved the strength both Maggie and West had. Their friendship was so sweet. It was so much fun watching them try to avoid falling for each other.

I also loved the dynamic between West and his friends. Their dialogue made me smile! I really want a book in this series about each of them! I’m hoping that’s what Abbi Glines has planned since this is the first book in the series. I’m not quite sure with the way this book ended.

That brings to me to why I didn’t give it 5 stars. Even though the storylines were wrapping up, the ending felt abrupt to me. It ended and I was like, “That’s it?!?!” I wish there would have been a little bit more.

I would definitely recommend this to YA readers (FYI – There is a few sexual acts mentioned. Actual sex was not described. There is also drinking in the story.). Until Friday Night captivated me from the beginning. The writing was amazing. I think it just might be my favorite Abbi Glines book that I’ve read so far.

6 thoughts on “Until Friday Night

Leave a Reply

