Review: The Air He Breathes by Brittainy C. Cherry

The Air He Breathes (Elements #1) by Brittany C. Cherry

Publication Date: September 25, 2015

Publisher: BCherry Books

Synopsis:

Elizabeth knows she should stay away from Tristan Cole. Everyone has told her he’s bad news. But there’s something inside Tristan that Elizabeth can relate with. Elizabeth sees Tristan and knows he’s not what they make him out to be. She knows he is just damaged like she is.

As Elizabeth gets to know Tristan, she finds an understanding and shared loss they can both relate to. It brings them closer together and soon they find themselves using each other in ways they never planned.

But they can’t go on forever living in the past and the future hold surprised neither of them could ever imagine.


My rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars


The Air He Breathes began as New Adult romances normally do: Messed up guy meets messed up girl. They are the only ones who really see each other. Then, Elizabeth and Tristan’s relationship went in a weird direction I didn’t like. They started using each other in a way that disturbed  me. The story lost me for a bit. Thankfully, Tristan and Elizabeth’s relationship got back on the right track and it went back to being what I have to come to expect from NA romances. But then, BAM! Surprise twist — in more ways than one.

Holy smokes. The Air He Breathes was not what I was expecting at all. Well, that’s not entirely true. I could foresee what was going to cause the biggest problem in Tristan and Elizabeth’s relationship from the beginning of the book. Other parts of it were a complete surprise, though. I didn’t expect the twist toward the end. That blew my mind.

For the most part, I really enjoyed Brittany C. Cherry’s writing and characters. I loved the bits and pieces I got to read of Tristan’s past life. Even though they had been through a similar situation, Tristan was more interesting of a character than Elizabeth was to me. I would credit that to some of the secrecy behind Tristan.

My favorite character in the whole book, though; had to be Elizabeth’s best friend Faye. She was outspoken and hilarious. Some of the things she said — oh, my! She was such fun to read.

Honestly, I wasn’t quite sure how to rate The Air He Breathes. There was so much going on in this story. It almost felt like two or three different books in one. Some of it I loved, other parts I hated. Overall, it was really good. So when it came down to rating it, I kept having to ask myself if I just liked it or did I really like it? It falls somewhere in between, so I went with 3.5 stars.

So, would I suggest reading it? Yes! If you like NA romances, give this one a try. While my rating is on the average side, I did really enjoy The Air He Breathes.

One thought on “Review: The Air He Breathes by Brittainy C. Cherry

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday: October 28, 2015 | a novel glimpse

Leave a Reply

