Review: November 9 by Colleen Hoover

November 9 by Colleen Hoover

Publication Date: November 10, 2015

Publisher: Atria

Synopsis:

I tried to write my own synopsis, but everything I wrote sounded too much like the book blurb. Anything I would add to or write to change it would give too much away. I don’t want to give anything about this book away, so here’s the book blurb from Goodreads.

Beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with an unforgettable love story between a writer and his unexpected muse.

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day of her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.


My rating: 5 out of 5 stars


You know how every once in a while you get the question, “If you could spend one day / have lunch with an author, who would it be and why?” Well, I feel like I finally have a good answer to that question: Colleen freakin’ Hoover.

Why and what does this have to do with my review for November 9? I’ll tell you why. Because Colleen Hoover is a freakin’ genius. Seriously. I’ve always loved her books, but November 9 blew my mind in ways I didn’t expect.

It wasn’t so much the surprises Colleen Hoover had in store for the reader (Don’t worry — there were many great ones!), but the way she took my emotions played with them. My emotions were a blank piece of paper that she wrote something happy on, crumbled up and then threw in her garbage can — only to grab it out of the can, flatten them back out and write something happy again. And just when I thought all the creases were gone, she would do it all again. She managed to make me angry, smile from ear to ear, laugh and get teary eyed all in the matter of a few chapters.

To say I loved November 9 would be inadequate. I don’t have the words to say how much I adored this book.

I’m just going to leave it at that. You won’t get any more information from me on this book. It’s one you have to read and experience for yourself. And I highly suggest you do just that.

3 thoughts on “Review: November 9 by Colleen Hoover

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Best Books I Read In 2015 | a novel glimpse

Leave a Reply

