The Dim Sum Book Tag

 dimsum-booktag-banner-900x600

The Dim Sum Book Tag is the brainchild of two of my favorite book bloggers Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts and Jenna @ Reading With Jenna. I would like to thank Joey for tagging me for this incredibly yummy tag!

Dim sum is a style of Chinese cuisine whereby food is served in small (tapas-like) portions and is common during yum cha (which literally means: drinking tea). This tag is inspired by good company and good eats.

Here are some rules to devour this tag:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site
  2. Devour dim sum and answer the tag questions
  3. Tag five others to join your round table for some dim sum fun
  4. Food coma

(If you could link to Joey or Jenna’s post, they would love to compile a list of taggers who completed it!)


Tea: A book that started off hot but quickly turned cold:

I know a lot of people aren’t going to agree with this, but I have to choose Paula Hawkin’s The Girl on the Train. It started out interesting enough but it lost me pretty early on. I just couldn’t find anything interesting about the main character, Rachel. I don’t have to like a character but I must have some reason to keep reading. I finished it, but I wish I had that time back.


Chiu Chow Dumpling: A book that features elements of land and sea:

The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman was the first book that came to mind for this one. It has both elements of land and sea. It’s about a young couple that live and operate a lighthouse in Australia on Jonas Rock. They are isolated at the lighthouse and only receive deliveries once a year. When a baby shows up on their shore, the wife believes it was a blessing from God. Keeping the baby will change their lives forever.


Rice Noodle Roll: A favorite multi-layered character you’ve read (i.e. Traits? Skills? Morally Ambiguous?)

I have to admit I was a little stumped on this one. I didn’t have a character that jumped to mind. After thinking about it for a while, I decided to go with Benton Kessler from Colleen Hoover’s November 9. There’s a lot going on with this dude throughout the book. Some of it is good, some of it is bad. But I don’t want to ruin anyone’s reading experience, so that’s all I’m saying.


Shrimp Dumpling: A book with a transparent blurb that gives the story away

I’m going with How to Be Brave by E. Katherine Kottaras for Shrimp Dumplings. The blurb basically tells it all. A girl’s mom died and now she’s taking on a list of 15 “brave” things to do. She starts doing these (some stupid, some illegal) things and all her relationships are put to the test. I was hoping it would be uplifting. It wasn’t. It was pretty depressing.


Steamed BBQ Pork Buns: A book that is fluffy on the outside but packs a punch of flavor (e.g. Message? Depth? Controversy?)

When I think of books with great messages and surprising depth, Bright Side by Kim Holden comes to mind. What I thought would be a typical New Adult love story was anything but. It was heartwarming, heart-wrenching and uplifting all in one. I still think about Bright Side all the time. It helps me put life in perspective some times.


Chicken Feet: A book with divided opinions

Colleen Hoover’s Maybe Someday is definitely a book with divided opinions. People either love it or hate it. I’m in the love category, but I can understand why people wouldn’t like it. Cheating is a trigger for some people and they can’t stand to read it. I guess when I think about it, I think about the reality of the situation. It sucks, but it happens. I felt Ms. Hoover did a great portraying the situation and didn’t really glamorize it.


Lotus-Wrapped Sticky Rice: A book you’ve received/given that was nicely packaged

The last book I received was a gift from my mom for my birthday. It was Flight For Control by Karlene Petitt. My mom heard her speak at an event and had the book signed for me. Ms. Petitt is a local author who worked in the airline industry for years. I’m really excited to read this book soon.


Egg Custard Tart: A book that uses simple ingredients and clichés but executes it perfectly

On the Fence by Kasie West is the perfect example of an Egg Custard Tart. It’s simple and sweet. Charlie is a tomboy who was raised by her father along with her brothers. She’s ultra competitive and interested in sports. When she starts working in a clothing boutique, she starts discovering a more feminine side of herself.


Mango Pudding with Evaporated Milk: Any book recommendation + beverage/snack that’s a winning combination 

The book I’m constantly recommending to people is Beth Flynn’s Nine Minutes. It’s a book that could easily be overlooked. The cover (in my opinion) isn’t very flattering and the book description is a little disturbing. It didn’t sound like a book I would want to read. It was recommended to me and I absolutely loved it. It is a book I couldn’t put down and it was filled with good surprises. I would pair it with a big bag of M&M’s or your favorite candy because you might need to stress eat while reading it.


Fried Sesame Balls: A book with embossed text/design you just love to run your fingers over

The last hardback book I read was The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah. It had a little raised area on it that was a nightingale. That was probably the last book cover I ran my fingers over.


Dim Sum Steam Cart: The type of carrying bag you use to bring books around (take

a picture!)

cropped-20150703_1413531.jpg

When I’m going on a trip or need to carry a book around, I use this awesome tote that my sister got me for my birthday last year. It says, “I like big books and I cannot lie.”


I tag:

Alex @ Alextheshadowgirl’s Blog

Calliope the Book Goddess

Carrie @ Reading is My Superpower

Claire @ Art and Soul

Dimple @ Enthrallingdimple

Hayley @ RatherTooFondOfBooks

Jane @ Greenish Bookshelf

Jessica @ Mud and Stars

Jordyn @ J.Bookish

Kelly @ Here’s to Happy Endings

Lucía @ Making Days Better

Maren @ The Worn Bookmark

Michelle @ Mishi Reads

Paige @ Page by Paige

Raven @ Dreamy Addictions

Skylee @ The Night Girl

Stephanie @ Stephanie’s Book Reviews

Tasha @ Head in the Clouds, Heart in the Books

20 thoughts on “The Dim Sum Book Tag

  1. Thanks for the tag, this one looks fun! It has also made me super-hungry for Dim Sum!! I just looked up one of the books on your list, Bright Side, as it sounded really good, and wow it has so many good reviews! Sounds like an amazing book, definitely adding to my list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for doing this tag, Deanna! I hope you had fun with it and that it didn’t make you too hungry 🙂 I’ve been wanting to read Maybe Someday for a while but I can’t decide which camp I’ll be in. I’m not a big fan of cheating in books, but I also don’t mind it in some stories (eg. Anna and the French Kiss). I might give it a go anyway and if it angers me, I’ll do some mental book throwing (never physical, always mental!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • If you didn’t mind Anna and the French Kiss, it probably won’t bug you. I think I had more of a problem with it it Anna than I did in Maybe Someday. Not sure why that is. And you’re very welcome! It was so much fun. You guys are geniuses!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great answers! I was one of the few people who didn’t enjoy Maybe Someday for the very reasons you mentioned. I read Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover too, but I think her romances are just not for me, haha. 🙂 I haven’t read any of the other books though I’ve had my eye on M.L. Stedman’s ever since it came out. Such a stunning cover!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: [Awards/Tags] — The Dim Sum Book Tag | thoughts and afterthoughts.

  5. Pingback: Dim Sum Book Tag! | Calliope the book goddess

  6. Pingback: The Dim Sum Book Tag! – Dreamy Addictions

Leave a Reply

