Review: Dead Ringer by Jessie Rosen

26213915Dead Ringer

Author: Jessie Rosen

Publication Date: November 11, 2015

Publisher: Full Fathom Five Digital

Genre: Young Adult Psychological Thriller

Goodreads Synopsis:

From the moment Laura Rivers steps foot into Englewood High, she notices the stares—and they aren’t the typical once-overs every pretty new girl endures. The students seem confused and…spooked. Whispers echoing through the halls confirm that something is seriously off. “That new girl looks just like her,” they say.

It turns out Laura has a doppelgänger, and it isn’t just anyone—it’s Sarah Castro-Tanner, the girl who killed herself by jumping into the Navasink River one year ago.

Laura is determined not to let the gossip ruin her chances of making a fresh start. Thanks to her charming personality and California tan, she catches the eye of Englewood’s undisputed golden boy, Charlie Sanders, and it’s only a matter of time before they make their relationship official.

But something is making Charlie and his friends paranoid—and Laura soon discovers it has to do with Sarah Castro-Tanner.

What really happened to Sarah? Why is Charlie unraveling? And how does Laura Rivers fit into it all?

After all, she’s the dead ringer for a dead girl.


My rating: 3.5 / 5 Stars


I had a very hard time rating this book. The first half of Dead Ringer frustrated me. I’m still not sure if it was the pace at which things were revealed or my lack of interest in/dislike of the characters. (The only character I was really interested in was Amanda and she wasn’t even a narrator.) I know the author was trying to set up her ending, but I had to push myself to continue reading. I kept telling myself that since Dead Ringer was a psychological thriller, there would be a big surprise that would make it worth reading.

I was right! Dead Ringer picked up pace and the story got more interesting about half way through. I loved this part of the story. The plot twists were awesome. Some of the surprises I expected. Others completely shocked me. I wish the first half of the book would have been as exciting.

I don’t want to giveaway anything about this book and ruin it for anyone. I’m just going to say that I wasn’t completely happy with the ending. It left me a little frustrated.

If you’re a fan of psychological thrillers, Dead Ringer is definitely worth reading.

**I received an electronic copy of Dead Ringer from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Review: Dead Ringer by Jessie Rosen

  1. I’m sorry you didn’t like this one more! While I agree the pacing in the beginning seems a little slow and frustrsting, it definitely did pick up a lot. I didn’t mind the ending too much, because I’m definitely hoping for a sequel!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

