Review: Sugar Skulls by Lisa Mantchev & Glenn Dallas

25789738Sugar Skulls

Authors: Lisa Mantchev, Glenn Dallas

Publication Date: November 10, 2015

Publisher: Skyscape

Genre: Young Adult / Science Fiction / Fantasy / Romance

Goodreads Synopsis:

Welcome to Cyrene, a city where energy is currency and music is the lifeblood of its young citizens. Everyone lives on the grid, and the residents of the world’s largest playground are encouraged to pursue every physical and emotional pleasure imaginable.

Vee is the lead singer of the Sugar Skulls, an all-girl band that is Corporate’s newest pet project. Micah haunts the city like a ghost after an overdose of a deadly illegal street drug knocks him off the grid. When Micah and Vee forge an immediate, undeniable connection, their troubled worlds collide.

Trading concert stages for Cyrene’s rooftops and back alleys, they have to evade vicious thugs and Vee’s possessive manager as they unravel the mysteries connected to their dark pasts. And before the curtain falls, Micah and Vee will bring the city to its knees in their desperate bid for love, home, and a future together.


My rating: 5 / 5 Stars


I wouldn’t call myself a science fiction or fantasy reader. Every once in a while I will deviate from my normal romance reads to pick up a book from another genre that has great reviews, sounds interesting or someone has recommended to me. In the case of Sugar Skulls, I was fortunate to have won a copy from Goodreads courtesy of Amazon Publishing.

I’m so grateful I did! I truly loved Sugar Skulls. The book was well written and very interesting. It captured my attention from the beginning and kept it throughout. Sugar Skulls wasn’t like any other dystopian novel I’ve read. While it focused on the characters’ actions to survive the world of Cyrene, there was so much more than just that. There were twists and turns and connections I didn’t see coming.

I loved all of the Sugar Skulls characters. The authors did an amazing job creating solid relationships between the characters.Vee was so bad-ass and fun to read. Even when her character was going through tough times, she made it work for her. Vee wasn’t going to let anyone walk all over her. And her attachment to Little Dead Thing made me smile.

From the beginning, I rooted for Micah. He was such a great underdog. I wanted him to come out on top and get the girl. I didn’t realize his background was going to play so much into the story, but I loved that it did.

I’m really glad the authors decided to write Sugar Skulls in dual points of view. It added so much to the story to get to see what both Vee and Micah were thinking. I also like the way it was written in first person present tense. Sometimes that doesn’t work for me, but in this book it did. I felt like I was seeing the situation through Micah and Vee’s eyes.

As for the rest of the characters, I couldn’t help hate Damon and the people Micah dealt with. They were great villains and made the story even more fun to read.

One thing I would point out about this novel is that I’ve seen it categorized as Young Adult. It’s filled with sex, drugs and crime. I, myself, would categorize it as a New Adult Science Fiction novel. I wouldn’t recommend it those under 17, but maybe I’m erring on the safe side.

If you’re looking for an entertaining and fast-paced dystopian love story, I would suggest picking Sugar Skulls up.

**Thank you to Goodreads and Amazon Publishing for sending me a copy of Sugar Skulls in exchange for an honest review.

4 thoughts on “Review: Sugar Skulls by Lisa Mantchev & Glenn Dallas

  1. This was such a great review! Sugar Skulls has been on my TBR list for a while now, but I haven’t been sure if I really wanted to read it until now…after reading your review, I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

