Review: It’s Only Love

24611719It’s Only Love

Author: Marie Force

Publication Date: November 3, 2015

Publisher: Berkley

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Goodreads Synopsis:

The new Green Mountain Romance from the New York Times bestselling author of And I Love Her.

Ella Abbott has long been secretly in love with Gavin Guthrie. A few recent encounters have only added to her infatuation, especially the kiss they shared at her sister’s wedding. It doesn’t matter to Ella that Gavin is in a bad place. He says there’s no hope for a future with him, that he has nothing to offer her. But all Ella cares about is the love she feels.

It’s been seven long years since Gavin lost his brother. He’d kept himself under control and moving forward until his brother’s beloved dog died and his brother’s widow re-married. Since then, he’s been drinking, fighting, and even getting arrested. It seems the only time his demons leave him alone is when Ella is around.

Gavin knows it wouldn’t be fair to drag Ella into his darkness, but when she inserts herself into his life, what choice does he have but to allow her to soothe his aching heart?


My rating: 3 / 5 Stars


I’ve been a fan of Marie Force’s series for a long time. I’ve read almost all of her books and enjoyed the majority of them. The Green Mountain series has been hit or miss for me, though. I enjoyed the first couple of books only to then lose interest in the series. I’ve kept reading because I like the Abbott family. I’ve  been waiting for It’s Only Love because I have wanted to read Ella and Gavin’s story since Hannah’s book.

I have to admit that I was a little let down by the story. It lacked the emotion I was expecting. I thought it would be a lot deeper of a story with Gavin still deeply affected by his brother’s death. I expected a darker journey for him. The story was cute, but it was very fluffy. It was mostly Ella and Gavin having amazing sex. While that was fun to read, I just needed more.

 

Leave a Reply

