Review: Come Back to Me by Mila Gray

25312179Come Back to Me

Author: Mila Gray

Publication Date: June 19, 2014

Publisher: Pan Macmillon

Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance

Goodreads Synopsis:

Home on leave in sunny California, Marine and local lothario Kit Ryan finds himself dangerously drawn to his best friend’s sister, Jessa – the one girl he can’t have.

But Kit’s not about to let a few obstacles stand in his way and soon Jessa’s falling for his irresistible charms.

What starts out as a summer romance of secret hook-ups and magical first times quickly develops into a passionate love affair that turns both their worlds upside down.

When summer’s over and it’s time for Kit to redeploy, neither Kit nor Jessa are ready to say goodbye. Jessa’s finally following her dreams and Kit’s discovered there’s someone he’d sacrifice everything for.

Jessa’s prepared to wait for Kit no matter what. But when something more than distance and time rips them apart they’re forced to decide whether what they have is really worth fighting for.

A breathtaking, scorchingly hot story about love, friendship, family and finding your way back from the edge of heartbreak.


My rating: 4 / 5 Stars


I have been trying to write a review for Come Back to Me for a week now. I keep starting it, erasing it and then re-writing it. I feel like I can’t do this book justice with my review, but I’m going to try anyway. (Warning — I did include some spoilers at the very bottom, but they’re clearly marked spoilers.)

I loved the beginning of Come Back to Me. It started with Jessa waiting to find out who was killed in action: her brother or her boyfriend. It was tense and heartbreaking. But then I didn’t get that answer. Instead, I was transported months back to when Jessa and her boyfriend, Kit, fell in love.

Kit and Jessa’s love story was sweet and fun, but also filled with its fair share of drama. I liked it, but in the back of my mind I kept thinking, “Hurry up! I need to know what happened!” I couldn’t enjoy this part of the story as much I wanted to because I was waiting to find out what poor Jessa was going to have to live with.

The story of what happened after Jessa learns who lived and who died was more important to me than the beginning of their love story. It was deeper and more emotional. I wanted more of this part of the story than I got.

I still really liked and enjoyed Come Back to Me. It’s definitely a book I would recommend to New Adult romance readers or readers who enjoy military love stories. I have also read the second book in this series, This is One Moment, and enjoyed it as well. You can find my review for it here.

Other books in this series:

25433432

**SPOILERS**

Like I said, I didn’t get as much of the after story as I wanted. 85% of the story was in the past. That left little time to tell what happens with Jessa and Kit (Yes, he lived.) after her brother/his best friend dies. He doesn’t handle it well and ignores Jessa. Most of this time is portrayed through emails Jessa sends Kit. We don’t really get to see what Jessa’s going through after basically losing both men in her life. We don’t even see much of what Kit was going through. I really wish this would have been included. It was such an important part of the story to me. Oh, and was I the only one hoping that maybe her dad was the one that somehow died?

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Come Back to Me by Mila Gray

  1. I’ve been keeping my eye on this book for a while now. I usually love a good story that features the military in some way. However, I was also wary of the NA tag because the majority of the NA books I’ve read have been very angst heavy and so I’ve got to be in the right mood to read this genre.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

