Review: By Degrees by Elle Casey

18290664By Degrees

Author: Elle Casey

Publication Date: August 4, 2014

Publisher: Elle Casey

Genre: New Adult Romance

Goodreads Synopsis:

Celebrities all suffer from the same disease. I call it the create-your-own-reality disease. Most of them start out normal, like you and me, but somewhere along the way they lose sight of up and down, left and right, and then eventually right and wrong. It’s my job to fix that.

Who hires me, Scarlett Barnes, otherwise known as ‘The Normalizer’? Agents usually. Producers sometimes. They know they can trust me to be professional, discreet, and above all, not personally involved with my clients. I come in, I take over their lives, and I get them back on track. Help them remember what it’s like to be an average Joe.

My latest job acquisition? His friends call him Tear-It-Up Kilgour, but I just call him Tarin – lead singer and guitarist for the band By Degrees. I have thirty days to get his butt back on planet earth before he loses his record deal, his movie contract, and possibly even his life. I’ve never failed so far, and I don’t plan on failing this time either, even if Tarin has other ideas.

Content Warning: This is a New Adult Romance, perhaps not suitable for younger readers due to foul language, sexual situations, drug use, and obnoxious rock-n-roll musicians.


5 / 5 Stars


 By Degrees is the story of a young woman who lost her one true love to fame and has now made it her mission to save others from the same fate.

When Scarlett is hired to rein in out of control superstar Tarin, she gets more than she bargained for. I loved Scarlett’s no nonsense approach to her clients. Her hard exterior was fun to read — especially when it started to crack from Tarin’s advances. As much as she tried to stay all business, Tarin began to creep into her personal life.

 Tarin was exactly what you would expect from out of control rock star with a guilty conscience. I would have been just as annoyed as Scarlett dealing with him, but he made for a very interesting story. I loved the way he relentlessly pursued her and pushed her buttons.

Tarin may have been a jerk on a path of destruction, but Scarlett quickly discoved there’s more to the man than she thought. Their lives were connected in ways she never imagined. Some of those ways were good and others would change Scarlett’s perspective forever. It would be up to Scarlett to decide if she can let go of the past and have a future with Tarin.

By Degrees captured my interest from the Prologue and never once lost it. I loved that it was a take on the NA rock star romance that I had never read before. This fast-paced love story made me laugh so many times. Even when the characters were self-destructing, it was fun to read. I absolutely loved By Degrees. I would highly suggest it to New Adult romance readers.

4 thoughts on “Review: By Degrees by Elle Casey

Leave a Reply

