2015 End of Year Book Survey

I’ve seen a few blogger friends complete The Perpetual Page-Turner’s 2015 End of Year Book Survey and I thought it would be a fun thing to do before 2015 ends. I am apologizing in advance because I know a couple of my favorite books from 2015 are going to take over my survey answers! So, here we go…


 

2015-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984

 

reading-stats-2015-1024x278

Number Of Books You Read: 258
Number of Re-Reads: 0
Genre You Read The Most From: New Adult

 

best-YA-books-2014

1. Best Book You Read In 2015?

22669832 23253863 25959560

I have two. Well, three really.

Bright Side by Kim Holden

Nine Minutes & Out of Time by Beth Flynn

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

22557272

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins. Too. Much. Hype.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?

23253863 

Nine Minutes by Beth Flynn. I had no idea I would love this book so much. I thought it would be too disturbing, but it wasn’t.

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

23253863

Yes, again. Everyone I told to read this that did was hooked.

 5. Best series you started in 2015? Best Sequel of 2015? Best Series Ender of 2015?

22669832 23253863

Series started: Nine Minutes  & Bright Side (again!)

25959560

Best Sequel: Out of Time (Nine Minutes #2 — Are you seeing a trend?)

17251561

Best Series Ender of 2015: Darkness Before Dawn (Darkness #2) by Claire Contreras

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2015?

One? Here are a few of them:

Sarina Bowen

Claire Contreras

Beth Flynn

Amy Harmon

Kim Holden

Elle Kennedy

Ali Novak

Ginger Scott

Kasie West

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

23437156

I’m not really a fantasy person, but I loved Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo.

 

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

23253863 25959560

Seriously, people. Read this series.

 9. Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

23253863 25959560

I don’t re-read much but I will be re-reading Nine Minutes & Out of Time by Beth Flynn before the third book in the series comes out. I need the twists and turns to be fresh in my mind.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015?

25789738

The Sugar Skulls cover is even more beautiful in person. The colors really pop.

11. Most memorable character of 2015?

22669832

Kate from Bright Side. I think about her all of the time. I try to apply her philosophy to my life now.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2015?

20901080 22669832

Honestly, I could have picked any of the books I read by Amy Harmon. Her writing is beautiful and each book has a special message. I chose Infinity + One because it’s the first book I read of hers and it started my love affair with her novels.

And it’s Bright Side again. I can’t help it. So beautiful.

 

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2015?

22669832

Did you see this coming? It was almost as thought-provoking as Me Before You by Jojo Moyes for me. Bright Side was definitely the most life-changing book I read this year.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read? 

6482837

Why did I wait so long to read Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver?

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2015?

“The Easter Bunny could have come down the chimney armed with machine guns and opened fire on the house, and everyone would have been less surprised.”

-Kelly Oram, Cinder & Ella

I have a ton of favorites. They’ve been posted on the 3 Days, 3 Quotes Challenges and a Top Ten Tuesday post. I just chose this one randomly because it was fun.

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2015?

TemptedbyaKissAnnaDurand

Shortest: Tempted by a Kiss by Anna Durand (28 pages)

25644601

Longest: Grey by E.L. James (559 pages)

 

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

23253863 25959560

Yes, these two again. The twists were insane. Oh, and…

21469108

My husband thought I was nuts because I yelled, “OH, $h!t!” at the end of The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick.

 

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

23121894

Tyson Preeter and Cass Owens from You and Everything After.

 

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

18285151

I love the friendships between all of the characters from Jay McLean’s More Than series.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2015 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

21853621 23398961

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah and The Sound of Glass by Karen White

 

21. Best Book You Read In 2015That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

22669832 23253863

You have my Goodreads Young Adult Contemporary Group buddy readers to thank for these two books hogging most of the questions on this survey.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015?

Uh…I’m horrible at the whole book boyfriend thing. I love a bunch of different male characters. I guess if I had to pick one for the year, I would probably pick Gus from Bright Side.

23. Best 2015 debut you read?

24638201

I loved Catherine Doyle’s Vendetta. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series!

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

23437156

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

18298225

All of Kasie West’s books are fun to read, but I especially loved On the Fence.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2015?

22669832

Oh, man. I think I cried for the last 1/3 of this book. My husband was so concerned he asked if I should stop reading it.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

22669832

Yep.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

23014725

The characters in Stephanie Kuehn’s Delicate Monsters did it. I can’t even explain it.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2015?

 

21469108

I can honestly say I’ve never read anything like Marcus Sedgwick’s The Ghosts of Heaven. It was mind blowing to me.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

23480844

Firsts by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn. The MC’s decisions drove me mad.

book-blogging

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2015?

I dislike this question. It’s my first half a year of blogging and I have loved all of the bloggers I have met so far. I hate singling anyone out or hurting anyone’s feelings by not including them. So know that I love and appreciate you all! Your blogs are all amazing!

I am going to give a nod to the first four bloggers I met when I started because they made me feel welcome and included right off the bat:

Kelly @ Here’s to Happy Endings

Sky @ Bookish Night

Erika @ Erika in Bookventureland

Giselle @ Hardwork Boulevard

And I can’t leave out a couple of guys I met along the way whose humor, wit and male point of view I have appreciated:

Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts

Jesse @ Books at Dawn

But really, I could have listed everyone I follow. I appreciate you all!

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2015?

I can’t choose one!

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

Confession: I Read Too Much and I Don’t Care

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I love The Broke and the Bookish’s Top Ten Tuesday. It’s so much fun reading everyone’s lists weekly.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2015?

Starting my blog and meeting all of the awesome bloggers out there!

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

Not letting it consume me and all of my time.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

Well, beside my home page and about, it was my Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books That Would Be On My Syllabus If I Taught New Adult 101.

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

Any of them, I guess. They’re all posts I put time into.

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

Bookbub! The daily deals emails kill me. I have gotten so many great books for free or cheaper thanks to Bookbub.

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

2015 Reading Challenge

Yes, I reached and surpassed my Goodreads goal for 2015.

looking-ahead-books-2015

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2016?

8621462

 

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2016 (non-debut)?

17378527 25454883

I’m awaiting a ton of books but The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater, Never Never Part 3 by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher, and Nine Minutes #3 by Beth Flynn come to mind immediately.

3. 2016 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

22449806

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2016?

 

17378527 25454883

Same answer as #2. The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater, Never Never Part 3 by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher, and Nine Minutes #3 by Beth Flynn.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2016?

I want to read the books I already have on my Kindle. They’re stacking up way too fast!

6. A 2016 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

25431172

21 thoughts on “2015 End of Year Book Survey

  1. ohmygod!! This is probably the best way to wrap up my 2015 reading year! I feel so honored to be included in the list. Thank you so much Deanna for being such a great friend! I have yet to read some of the books included here but I definitely agree with The Girl On The Train. I couldn’t believe it won the GR awards in 2015, This debut novel defeated Stephen King and Jk Rowling!

    Anyway thank you Deanna for tagging me. Wishing you a fruitful reading year ahead! Advance Happy New Year to you and of course to your family! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just did my end of year book survey today, and I completely agree with you – I think all my favorite books dominated the list (I felt repetitive, oh well).

    I don’t read a lot of new adult, so thank you for introducing me to a bunch of awesome books that I will now add to my Goodreads. This is why I really like reading lists of people who don’t usually read the same genres I do; it adds variety!

    You must read A Monster calls ASAP! I adored it and it actually made me cry.

    Here’s my post: https://bookloverthoughts.wordpress.com/2015/12/30/annual-end-of-the-year-survey-2015/

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope you find a NA book you love! 🙂 And I agree. It’s so much fun to discover new books I wouldn’t normally read and love.
      Thanks for stopping by! I am definitely going to be checking out your list! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

