Review: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick Fit

18392495The Boy Most Likely To

Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick

Publication Date: August 18, 2015

Publisher: Dial Books

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Goodreads Synopsis:

A surprising, utterly romantic companion to My Life Next Door—great for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han 

Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have.

And Alice is caught in the middle.

Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this novel is for readers of The Spectacular Now, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, and Paper Towns.


5 / 5 Stars


I have been interested in reading more about the Garrett family ever since I read My Life Next Door. There’s something about the huge family that is so inviting and interesting. Each family member has a distinctive personality that made me fall in love with each of them. I was especially interested in Alice with her hard exterior and love them and leave them attitude, so I was excited to see The Boy Most Likely To would be her story…

And Tim’s. Tim was such a messed up character in My Life Next Door. I knew The Boy Most Likely To would be the story of his redemption. I couldn’t wait to see how Huntley Fitzpatrick would make tough, dependable Alice fall for screw up Tim. Honestly, it couldn’t have been more perfect. I loved it!

Tim was tired of being the family screw up. Hes may only be 17, but he’s done with drugs and alcohol.  Tim has to clean himself up if he wants to keep his trust fund. He’s already started the process by moving out of his parents’ house and into the apartment above the Garrett’s garage.

Living above the Garrett’s has its benefits. They’re his biggest support system. He also gets to be neighbors with his best friend, Jase…and his hot older sister, Alice. If only Alice would be interested in a screw up like Tim.

Alice doesn’t want to be interested, but she is. She’s tired of all the safe, boring guys she dates for a minute and then ditches. Alice wants someone that’s going to make her laugh, someone that’s going to relieve the pressure of taking care of her huge family while her dad’s in the hospital. Tim’s the only one that seems to be able to do that these days.

But just when Tim’s finally going to get the chance with the girl of his dreams, his sordid past pops back up to ruin things. Alice will have to decide if she’s willing to let go of her heart and if she’s up to standing by Tim when the worst happens.

Alice and Tim’s relationship was complicated in so many ways. Not only was Tim younger, but he had so many issues to deal with. Staying sober was hard, but life kept throwing more obstacles at him. I loved his resilience and his ability to stay positive when things sucked. I also loved the way he was with Alice. Despite being such a loser for so long, he had a maturity about him. I forgot he was only 17 many times.

Alice’s journey in this story felt so real to me. There are so many times older siblings are left to care for their younger ones due to a parent’s illness or injury. She was so strong for her siblings while she was crumbling inside. I loved this aspect of the story and how her parents dealt with it in the long run.

I also loved how Alice didn’t want to fall for her younger brother’s best friend. (What girl wants to be a “cougar” at 19?) She and Tim were so sweet together, though. They really brought out the best in each other. Plus, I couldn’t help but enjoy their bickering.

As for the rest of the Garrett family, it was so much fun to catch up with them! I still love George and Patsy the most. George’s facts make me laugh. Patsy’s “Hon” made me smile so many times. I want more of them! How about a Joel book next? Or one about Nan? I’ll take anything I can get!

If you loved My Life Next Door, you’re bound to fall in love with The Boy Most Likely To. And if you’re a YA contemporary reader and haven’t read My Life Next Door, start there and then read The Boy Most Likely To. You won’t be disappointed. Huntley Fitzpatrick writes wonderfully heartwarming stories.

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Review: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick Fit

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s