Review: When it Rains by Lisa De Jong

17833493When it Rains (Rains #1)

Author: Lisa De Jong

Publication Date: September 25, 2013

Publisher: CreateSpace

Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance

Goodreads Synopsis:

*This book contains mature subject matter and is not intended for those under the age of 17.*

One night changed my life forever.

Beau Bennett has been my best friend since I can remember. He was my first crush before everything came crashing down, and now he wants more, but it’s more than I can give him. Things are different now. I wish I could tell him why, but I can’t.

I haven’t told anyone.

I never knew how much I really needed him until the day he left for college, and I was completely alone.

Then one day, Asher Hunt rides into town with his dark, captivating eyes and cocky grin. He doesn’t care who I used to be, he’s simply breathing life into what’s left. People warn me to stay away from him, but he helps me forget the pain that has held me hostage for so long; something I thought was impossible before he walked into my life.

I’ve been hurt.

I’ve been saved.

And I’ve found hope.

I thought my story was written that night, but now I know it was only a new beginning. Until one secret turns my world upside down…

Again.

 


4.5 / 5 Stars


I’ve tried to write this review several times now. I keep hitting delete. I feel like no matter what I write, I can’t do When it Rains justice. I guess I’m just going to have to do my best.

When it Rains is a beautifully sad tale of young woman who is coping with a horrible event that changed her. It’s been two years, but Kate still feels like a shell of her former self. She’s pushed everyone but her mom and her best friend, Beau, away. I couldn’t help but feel for Kate. She felt so alone and couldn’t ask for help.

To make matter worse, Beau is leaving for college. Kate doesn’t know what she’ll do without him. She can’t imagine not seeing him every day. He makes things even harder by professing his love to her before he goes. Kate knows she can’t be the girl he needs, so she lets him go. It’s painful to read Beau’s reaction, to feel his heart breaking. I think mine broke a little, too. I couldn’t help but hope Kate would see her error and go to him.

She doesn’t, though. Kate’s trying to move on and continue life as she knows it when Asher Hunt walks into the diner she waitresses at. There’s something about Asher that makes Kate excited about life again. They quickly become friends and then something more.

For the first time in over two years, Kate feels hope. She feels happiness. Asher knows the right things to do and say to make her feel safe. I couldn’t help but feel torn about it. On one hand, I wanted Kate to be happy. On the other, I wanted it to be with Beau because Asher has some secrets I’m worried about. Secrets I can feel are going to hurt Kate.

I’m not going to say more about the story from here because I don’t want to give any of the surprises away. What I will say is the rest of the story gutted me. I haven’t ugly cried as much as I did reading this book since I read Bright Side by Kim Holden.

My only complaint about When it Rains is that I didn’t like the Beau-Kate-Asher love triangle. While I get it now, it frustrated me while reading the book. All that angst!

When it Rains is a book I would recommend to New Adult readers who enjoy a good ugly cry. There are situations in this book that would not be suitable for younger, immature readers.

Note: After finishing When it Rains, I downloaded the novella that comes after it in the series. After the Rain is a continuation of Kate’s story. I felt like it was actually a better end to her story than the ending in When it Rains. The added story was what I needed to for the story to be amazing. If the two had been combined, I would have given When it Rains the complete 5 stars. If you’re planning on reading When it Rains, plan on reading After the Rain when you’re done.

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Review: When it Rains by Lisa De Jong

  1. Pingback: Mid-Year Freak Out Tag |

  2. Pingback: Mid Year Freak Out Tag (2016) |

Leave a Reply

