Review: Changing Forever by Lisa De Jong

18808050Changing Forever (Rains #2)

Author: Lisa De Jong

Publication Date: June 20, 2014

Publisher: Lisa De Jong

Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance

Goodreads Synopsis:

I’ve always let my past dictate my future, letting it paint a picture of exactly what I don’t want to be. Where I don’t want to end up.

Drake Chambers is as arrogant as I am stubborn. A college quarterback, a national star. I thought he was just another one of those guys … the type every girl should stay away from, but he’s carrying more than the weight of the football team on his shoulders.

He unravels the feelings and beliefs I’ve held onto for so long.

I thought we had it all figured out. Two people who’d finally found their happily ever after, but the past always has a way of sneaking into the present.

With one decision, everything changes … forever.


4 / 5 Stars


Changing Forever is the second book in the Rains series. The first book was Kate’s story. The second book is her roommate Emery’s story. It can be read after When it Rains (my review) or as a standalone novel.

Emery is happy to be away at college putting all her efforts into her studies. She has plans for the future and none of those plans include a hot quarterback.

College is just a stepping stone to the future Drake and his father have been planning for years. Drake has the talent to make it to the NFL and nothing is going to get in his way. Not his family. Not a girl.

Everything is going as planned for both of them until Drake and Emery end up as partners on a class project. Drake and Emery find they may have more in common than they thought and the attraction they feel to each other is off the charts.

Just as Drake and Emery are finally giving into their feelings for each, one decision will alter their lives forever.

While I admired her drive, I found Emery hard to connect with. She just didn’t have much of a personality — unless she was interacting with Drake. Then she was a firecracker and her comebacks were fun to read.

I loved Drake. Even when he was being a complete jerk, I felt for him. He had so much pressure on him. He was always trying to do what was best for everyone — even if it really wasn’t. I liked watching him mature throughout the story.

I really enjoyed Changing Forever, even if I could see most of the “surprises” coming. I loved watching Emery and Drake try to avoid falling for each other. It was fun and filled with sexual tension.

Other books in this series:

178334931939010218808092

2 thoughts on “Review: Changing Forever by Lisa De Jong

Leave a Reply

