Review: Living with Regret by Lisa De Jong

18808092Living with Regret (Rains #3)

Author: Lisa De Jong

Publication Date: October 7, 2014

Publisher: Lisa De Jong

Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance

Goodreads Synopsis:

I had my whole life mapped out. Perfect guy. Perfect friends. Everything was exactly the way I wanted it.

That was until that night–the one I can’t remember. It’s all my fault, and now the memories are all I have left of him. Of us.

My guilt drowns me until Sam Shea steps back into my life and helps me to the surface. He slowly opens my heart and crawls deep inside before I even realize what’s happening. I know I don’t deserve him.

While I’m trying to get used to my new life, pieces of that night slowly start to come back to me. Lies and secrets shatter everything I thought I knew.

Maybe I’m not the only one living with regret.


5 / 5 Stars


Living with Regret is the third book in the Rains series. It can be read as a standalone novel, but there are some cute nods to the first two books in the series. It’s Rachel’s story.

In Living with Regret, Rachel is doing just that. In one night, her perfect future was shattered. She’s lost her boyfriend and her closest friends. Rachel can’t remember how it all happened, but she knows her life will never be the same.

While she’s trying to come to terms with the heartache life has dealt her, one person shows up to help her through the pain. Sam. He was her neighbor, the childhood friend she could always count on when she needed to escape. She hasn’t spoken to him much since she was fifteen and started dating Cory, but knowing he’s here to support her is what’s getting her through the day.

As Rachel begins to get stronger, memories begin to surface. The more she remembers, the more she realizes she might not be the only one responsible for what happened the night her life changed forever.

After meeting Rachel in After the Rain, I wasn’t sure what I thought of her. She seemed like the beautiful girl that let her boyfriend walk all over her. I wondered who she really was. In Living with Regret, I saw the strength that she had.

Rachel was dealing with so much in this book. She was completely devastated and I felt so bad for her. She had no clue how her life had taken such a drastic turn and blamed herself. I loved how Sam helped her through it all and was her support system. The “bad boy” wasn’t bad at all. He was so sweet.

I loved the way Rachel was in the dark almost the entire time — even if I could guess most of what happened. I liked finding out bits and pieces as I went along. I also loved the little gems Lisa De Jong sprinkled in from When it Rains.

The best part of the book was the message, though. Living with Regret was about accepting responsibility and learning to forgive yourself and others. Those are two very important things to learn while you’re growing up and maturing.

2 thoughts on “Review: Living with Regret by Lisa De Jong

Leave a Reply

