Review: Six of Hearts by L.H. Cosway

22324683Title: Six of Hearts 

Series: Hearts, Book #1

Author: L.H. Cosway

Publication Date: July 26, 2014

Publisher: CreateSpace

Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance

Goodreads Synopsis:

Step right up and meet Jay Fields: Illusionist. Mentalist. Trickster.

I think in triangles. You think in straight lines.

I show you a table and make you believe it’s a chair.

Smoke and mirrors, sleight of hand, misdirection. I trick and deceive.

But most of all, I put on a good show.

The world thinks I killed a man, but I didn’t. Bear with me. It’s all a part of the plan.

Revenge is what I want. I want it for me and I want it for her.
I want it for all six of us.

She doesn’t remember me, but she’s the reason for everything. She’ll be my prize at the end of all this–if I can hold onto my willpower, that is. Maybe I’ll slip up a little, have a taste, just a small one.

So go ahead and pick a card. Come inside and see the show. Look at my hands, look so closely that you can’t see what’s happening while you’re so focused on looking. I’ll be destroying your world from right here in the spotlight.

You’ll never see me coming until it’s too late.

I’ve only got one heart, and after I’ve pulled off my grand deception I’ll hand it right to her.

So, sit back, relax, and let my girl tell you our story. You’re in for one hell of a ride.


3.5 / 5 Stars


Six of Hearts is one of those hard books to review. There were many great things about it, but there were also some things kept it from being amazing in my opinion.

I’m going to start out with what I didn’t love: how long it took me to get sucked into the story. It wasn’t until Chapter 8 that I was truly engaged in it. Prior to that, I debated not finishing the book. Part of that was being annoyed at Matilda’s lack of confidence until then. I understood it, but it made her character seem younger than she was supposed to be. I also couldn’t decide if Jay was a decent human being underneath his cockiness until then. Once they started to connect and their romance started to bloom, I started to enjoy the novel more.

Matilda and Jay’s romance was super sweet. They took it at slower pace than what you normally see in this genre and it was refreshing. It fit Matilda’s shy personality well and brought out Jay’s good qualities.

Another thing Six of Hearts had going for it was it’s uniqueness. It was unlike New Adult romance I’ve ever read. While it features two broken characters falling in love like many novels in the genre, it’s unique because the main character’s love interest is an illusionist. I can honestly say it’s the first time I’ve come across that. It added a new spin to the romance and I loved that. It was fun to read about the illusions Jay created.

I also really enjoyed the mystery of Six of Hearts. Some of the revelations I could see coming, others were a complete surprise. The surprises made it so much fun to read.

So, while the beginning was super slow for me, I did end up enjoying Six of Hearts.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Review: Six of Hearts by L.H. Cosway

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday: January 27, 2016 | a novel glimpse

Leave a Reply

