Top Ten Tuesday Freebie: Top Ten Jaw Droppers

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly feature created here by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is Freebie Week! Pick a topic near and dear to your heart! Something you wished was on our official list!

I decided to pick a topic off the past list that I didn’t get to participate in because I didn’t have a blog yet. My freebie pick for this Top Ten Tuesday is Top Ten Book Endings That Left Me With My Mouth Hanging Open, or as I like to call them Jaw Droppers.


10. Mud Vein by Tarryn Fisher

18246727

After reading the Never Never collaboration between Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher I decided I wanted to read one of Tarryn Fisher’s books. I happened find Mud Vein on sale for $0.99. This book was not what I expected at all. It was completely dark and disturbing. I was surprised at how it made me feel in the end.


9. Never Never by Colleen Hoover & Tarryn Fisher

24378015

The “What the heck!?!?” cliffhanger at the end of Never Never left me with my mouth wide open.


8. The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson

5060378

I was not a huge fan of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. The majority of it was boring. When I heard the second book was mostly about Lisbeth, I decided to try it. I’m so happy I did. I couldn’t believe the way it ended! Luckily, the third book came out the week after I finished this one.


7. Dance for Me by J.C. Valentine

23585423

I expected an erotic romance about a college student stripping to pay her way through school. I got a story filled with twists I could never have imagined.


6. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

19288043

Of course, Gone Girl is on the list. I read it based on a recommendation from a friend’s sister. I was bored at the beginning. I didn’t like the characters. Then, BAM! Things got a whole lot more interesting.


5. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

17675462

Best last line in a book. Ever.

I could have had all of the Raven Cycle books on this list. Each one leaves me shocked and eagerly awaiting the next book.


4. The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry

1951125

My sister chose The Lace Reader for a book group we were once in. I was reading it and I couldn’t understand why she would pick such an underwhelming book. Then I got to the end. I have since read it three times. And I don’t re-read books.


3. The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick

21469108

I read rave reviews for The Ghosts of Heaven in BookPage magazine. I requested it from the library and, honestly, I wasn’t super impressed when reading it. I mean, it was interesting but nothing that stood out to me…until the last chapter. That last chapter BLEW.MY.MIND. I think I screamed a couple of profanities as I shut the cover.


2. Nine Minutes by Beth Flynn

23253863

I was told to read this. I couldn’t get why. I’m not at all interested in stories about motorcycle gang abductions. In fact, I was a little concerned about reading. I shouldn’t have been. It blew my mind. I loved it. It’s probably my favorite psychological thriller series EVER. Beth Flynn knows how to create amazing twists and turns at every corner.


1. Out of Time by Beth Flynn

25959560

Out of Time continues the story started in Nine Minutes. If I thought it would answer all of my questions from the first book, I was right. But I was also wrong because the answers created deeper questions. It blew my mind. I had to re-read the last 3 chapters a few times just to process what I was learning. The third book in the series should be out this year and I can’t wait to (hopefully) get all of the answers.


So those are my biggest jaw droppers. What are yours?

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday Freebie: Top Ten Jaw Droppers

  1. The Raven Cycle is basically one jaw-dropping moment after another. I’m pretty sure I swallowed a bunch of flies while reading this series haha. Nine Minutes sounds really interesting because I’m quite interested in the dynamic of the biker gangs.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t realize until I was scrolling through my Reader feed that this week was a freebie week–BOOOOO, I don’t know how to read things apparently. Oh well.

    I so agree with you about The Ghosts of Heaven–MAHGOSH, the ending of that book ripped me apart! I was totally not expecting that going in to the final section!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

