Thoughtful Thursday:Does the type of book inspire you to read the book in a particular format?

http___www.pixteller.com_pdata_t_l-271165

Welcome to Thoughtful Thursday! Thoughtful Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Reading is Fun Again. I recently noticed that the topics I’ve been doing are from 2014, but I decided just to roll with it. (Hopefully, that’s okay.) The questions are fun to answer and have made me think a lot.

This week’s Thoughtful Thursday topic is Does the type of book (e.g., genre, demographic, page length) inspire you to read the book in a particular format (e.g., audio book, paperback, hardcover, e-book)?


Generally, I want to read almost all books on my Kindle. It’s easier to hold (especially if it’s a really long book), take places, adjust the font size and takes up less space on my bookshelves. Plus, no one knows what you’re reading. If I’m reading a smutty romance, I can easily tell someone I’m reading something else because they can’t see the cover!

There are a couple of exceptions, though. I’ve recently decided I would rather read books that include maps or family trees in them as hard copies. It’s way easier to turn back to look at them that way. An example would be Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. I read an electronic library copy on my Kindle. I would have liked to look back that map a bunch of times but didn’t.

The other exception would be if the book includes special art work. I read Colleen Hoover’s Confess on my Kindle and the beautiful pictures were in black and white. I should have bought the paperback instead. I did that for Patrick Ness’ A Monster Calls and was happy I did.


 

I can’t think of any other situations where the type of book will inspire me to read a particular format. Does anything inspire you to read a certain format?

 

8 thoughts on “Thoughtful Thursday:Does the type of book inspire you to read the book in a particular format?

  1. I don’t think I’m particular inspired to read a book in a differnt format. I mostly read ebooks but I do read some physical copies, it just depends how I have it or feel like reading.
    There is one book I’m preety sure you have to read in a physical format, Illuminea. I feel like otherwise you wouldn’t be able to read that book.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. For the most part I really prefer books to be physical copies, but if I can get the Kindle version on sale for like $1.99 I do (my Kindle library is huge). Also, if I have a book in one format, I have to have all the others in that series in the same format. I love physical books, though. They smell good =P

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol. I don’t know about the smell good thing! I go back and forth about having all the books in a series in the same format. I would prefer it that way, but the price will usually overrule that.

      Like

  3. I completely agree with you. I usually prefer my e-reader because it’s so much easier to hold, but when there are maps or charts or pictures, I wish I had a hard copy. Especially since I have a simpler version of the Nook and it’s not in color and I can’t change the size of pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I typically read most of my books in their physical format just because I prefer them to ebooks. However, if the book is a light, fluffy, easy read contemporary I am likely to read the ebook purely because I’m not as likely to pick up the book again and it’s cheaper than buying the physical format haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

