Review: Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally

Score_CVR.inddTitle: Catching Jordan

Series: Hundred Oaks

Author: Miranda Kenneally

Publication Date: November 18, 2011

Publisher: Sourcefire Books

Genre: YA, Contemporary Romance

Goodreads Synopsis:

ONE OF THE BOYS

What girl doesn’t want to be surrounded by gorgeous jocks day in and day out? Jordan Woods isn’t just surrounded by hot guys, though-she leads them as the captain and quarterback of her high school football team. They all see her as one of the guys and that’s just fine. As long as she gets her athletic scholarship to a powerhouse university.

But everything she’s ever worked for is threatened when Ty Green moves to her school. Not only is he an amazing QB, but he’s also amazingly hot. And for the first time, Jordan’s feeling vulnerable. Can she keep her head in the game while her heart’s on the line?


5 / 5 Stars


I started off the Hundred Oaks series by reading Jesse’s Girl, which comes several books after Catching Jordan. I fell in love with the Henry family in Jesse’s Girl and I’ve wanted to read Catching Jordan ever sinceI wanted to know more about best friends Sam and Jordan. I’m so happy I finally got to read it!

 

What I loved about Catching Jordan was, well, everything.

Jordan was an awesome main character. I loved her tomboyish ways and her reasons behind them. I also loved the way she figured out she didn’t have to act like a guy at all times. She could also be girly.

My favorite part was Jordan’s relationship with her guy friends. They were hilarious and accepted her for who she was. It was also cute to watch her slowly let other girls in. Jordan needed some girls on her side to help her figure out her new relationship with Ty and boys in general.

I liked and disliked Ty. He has great for Jordan in that he was supportive of her and made her feel special, but his jealousy of her relationship with Sam made me sad. Jordan was willing to put Ty first and I felt sorry for poor Sam. I felt sorry for Jordan, too. She didn’t have Sam to support her when she needed him most because of the rift Ty created between them.

Another thing I enjoyed was the family dynamic Jordan had going on. Her mom and brother were so supportive. They were there at all her games and supported her every decision. Her dad, and NFL player, was not. It added another great dimension to the story.

The only thing I would have liked to see added to the story was Sam’s point of view. I’m not sure why (Maybe the title?), but I thought Catching Jordan was going to be from a male perspective. I would have liked to know what was going on with Sam and his thoughts when Ty moved to town and took away his best friend.

If you’re a YA contemporary romance lover, I would highly suggest reading Catching Jordan or any of Miranda Kenneally’s books. (No, I haven’t read them all yet, but I’m going to!)  They’re guaranteed to put a smile on your face.

 

6 thoughts on “Review: Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally

  1. Pingback: Review: Breathe, Annie, Breathe by Miranda Kenneally – A Novel Glimpse

Leave a Reply

