Review: Maybe This Time by Chantal Fernando

18375518Title: Maybe This Time

Series: Maybe, #1

Author: Chantal Fernando

Publication Date: October 14, 2013

Publisher: Createspace

Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance

Goodreads Synopsis:

Moving in with my half-brother Xander, I had no idea what to expect.
But nothing could have prepared me for this.
My brother’s friends are wild, protective, secretive, always around.
And drop dead gorgeous.
Out of all of them, there’s something about Reid Knox.
Brooding, temperamental, guarded…
And I want him more than anything I have ever wanted in my life.


3.5 / 5 Stars


I hate giving Maybe This Time 3.5 stars. I really, really want to give it 5 stars. I wish I could, but I can’t. 😦 Here’s my reasoning.

Maybe This Time sucked me in from the minute I started reading it. The main characters were awesome. I loved feisty Summer and tough as nails Reid. They were both so strong, independent and stubborn. When they were fighting their feelings for each other, the sexual tension was off the charts. And when they finally decided to act on their attraction, I’m surprised they didn’t combust. It was that hot!

It wasn’t all about the romance, though. Summer and Reid were both dealing with some bigger issues. Summer was dealing with her absentee father and accepting him into her life. Reid was trying to deal with a bunch of family stuff himself. His backstory was more mysterious and kept me guessing. There were a lot of little surprises that I didn’t see coming.

I also loved all the supporting characters: Jack, Ryan, Xander and Tag. Each of their personalities added so much to Summer and Reid’s story. They were all so funny and close.

Chantal Fernando’s writing was so goodI loved Maybe This Time the entire time I was reading it, but…

The ending. Summer and Reid’s major falling out in the book was wrapped up too quickly. Summer forgave Reid for his actions way faster than anyone would have and then the story was over. Finished. I felt like I was missing a chunk of the story where he proves himself to her. There was an epilogue that gave me a where they are now type of thing, but I still felt something was missing. That’s why I can only give it 3.5 stars.

I want to make it clear that I highly recommend this book if you’re into New Adult romances, even if my rating doesn’t reflect that. It’s so much fun to read that you’ll forgive the abrupt ending and you’ll want to go on to read the next books in the series right away. (I did!)

Leave a Reply

