Release Blitz & Review: I Wish You Were Mine by Lauren Layne

 

Title: I Wish You Were Mine

Series: Oxford #2

Author: Lauren Layne

Publisher: Loveswept

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Release Date: February 2, 2015

Blurb

Perfect for fans of Alice Clayton and Emma Chase, Lauren Layne’s Oxford series heats up in this story of forbidden desire as a brooding jock hoping for a comeback falls for a woman who’s strictly off-limits.A year ago, Jackson Burke was married to the love of his life and playing quarterback for the Texas Redhawks. Now he’s retired, courtesy of the car accident that ruined his career—and single, after a nasty scandal torpedoed his marriage. Just as he’s starting to get used to his new life as a health and fitness columnist forOxford magazine, his unpredictable ex shows up on his doorstep in Manhattan. Jackson should be thrilled. But he can’t stop thinking about the one person who’s always been there for him, the one girl he could never have: her younger sister.

Mollie Carrington can’t say no to Madison. After all, her older sister practically raised her. So when Madison begs for help in winning her ex-husband back, Mollie’s just glad she got over her own crush on Jackson ages ago—or so she thought. Because as Mollie reconnects with Jackson, she quickly forgets all her reasons to stay loyal to her sister. Tempted by Jackson’s mellow drawl and cowboy good looks, Mollie is sick and tired of coming in second place. But she can’t win if she doesn’t play the game.

Review

4 / 5 Stars

I was really hoping the next book in the Oxford series was going to be Lincoln’s story. Obviously, it wasn’t. But after reading I Wish You Were Mine, I’m okay with that. I really enjoyed Jackson’s story!

Jackson’s life sucked. He lost his wife, his home, his reputation and his football career. Now he’s stuck at a job he hates, in a state he hates. He has no friends. He’s lonely. I felt sorry for him.

Then, he decides to call the one person he should stay away from: his ex-sister-in-law, Mollie. Seeing Mollie again awakens Jackson in ways he knows are wrong. He can’t want his ex-wife’s sister. But he does.

I couldn’t decide how I felt about that. One one hand, it’s just wrong. Seriously, it’s kind of creepy if you think about it. Both sisters? Ick! One the other hand, you can’t always help who you love. I’m sure this happens all of the time.

Mollie’s kind of nerdy, but in a hot way. She’s grown up and ready to be seen as a woman. She just wishes she didn’t want it to be by her sister’s ex-husband. When she ends up spending more time with Jackson than she ever planned, she knows she has to keep her feelings hidden.

I liked intelligent Mollie. It’s hard for me to sympathize with her having a crush on her sister’s ex, but then I’ve never thought of my brother-in-law in any way but as a brother.

But as Mollie and Jackson get closer and I learn more about Mollie’s sister, I stopped caring whether or not their relationship is a little taboo. They’re both nice people and deserve to fall in love with someone just as nice. Plus, Mollie’s sister deserves to get a slap in the face!

If you can look past the taboo aspect of this story, it’s a lot of fun to read! I’m looking forward to reading more of the Oxford series in the future!

**I received an electronic copy of I Wish You Were Mine in exchange for an honest review.

Add to Goodreads

 

Purchase Links

AMAZON US / UK


Also Available

AMAZON US / UK

 

Author Bio

Lauren Layne is the USA Today bestselling author of more than a dozen contemporary romance novels. Prior to becoming an author, Lauren worked in e-commerce and web-marketing. A year after moving from Seattle to NYC to pursue a writing career, she had a fabulous agent and multiple New York publishing deals. Lauren currently lives in Manhattan with her husband and plus-sized Pomeranian. When not writing, you’ll likely find her running (rarely), reading (sometimes), or at happy hour (often).

Author Links

6 thoughts on “Release Blitz & Review: I Wish You Were Mine by Lauren Layne

  1. I read Lauren Layne’s other series before her oxford one called “sex, love, and stiletto”. Well, actually just the first two but thought nothing special about it. However, the oxford series looks far more exciting ! Did you read her first series and did you like oxford more? Also, I just found your blog and i’m definitely following. I would love it if you checked mine out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hmm…Well, I generally love Lauren Layne’s writing style. I thought the Sex, Love & Stiletto series was good and I would say the Oxford series is somewhat similar. It has some crossover characters. My favorite series by Layne is the Redemption series. I loved all of those books, so if I was going to suggest one of her series to read it would be that one. They’re New Adult. Oh, and thanks for following! I will definitely check out your blog! I also love finding new bookish friends and blogs. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

