Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Songs I Wish Were Books

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly feature created at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is all about music & books. My post will be on the Ten Songs I Wish Were Books. I’m picking songs that I think would make a great story. I’ll also through in a quick idea of what the book could be about.


1. Just A Friend

Biz Markie

This song is all about the drama of a guy who finds out the girl he’s trying to date just has a “friend”. I thought that would make for a fun story. Maybe someone at the girl’s school could console him and it could be a story about their relationship.

Have you ever met a girl that you tried to date

But a year to make love she wanted you to wait
Let me tell ya a story of my situation
I was talkin’ to this girl from the U.S. nation
The way that I met her was on tour at a concert
She had long hair and a short miniskirt
I just got onstage drippin’, pourin’ with sweat
I was walkin’ through the crowd and guess who I met
I whispered in her ear, “Come to the picture booth
So I can ask you some questions to see if you are a hundred proof”
I asked her her name, she said blah-blah-blah
She had 9/10 pants and a very big bra
I took a couple of flicks and she was enthused
I said, “How do you like the show?”
She said, “I was very amused”
I started throwin’ bass, she started throwin’ back mid-range
But when I sprung the question, she acted kind of strange
Then when I asked, “Do ya have a man, ” she tried to pretend
She said, “No I don’t, I only have a friend”
Come on, I’m not even goin’ for it
This is what I’m goin’ sing

You, you got what I need but you say he’s just a friend
And you say he’s just a friend, oh baby
You, you got what I need but you say he’s just a friend
But you say he’s just a friend, oh baby
You, you got what I need but you say he’s just a friend
But you say he’s just a friend

So I took blah-blah’s word for it at this time
I thought just havin’ a friend couldn’t be no crime
‘Cause I have friends and that’s a fact
Like Agnes, Agatha, Germaine, and Jack
Forget about that, let’s go into the story
About a girl named blah-blah-blah that adored me
So we started talkin’, getttin’ familiar
Spendin’ a lot of time so we can build up
A relationship or some understanding
I was gonna be in the future we was plannin’
Everything sounded so dandy and sweet
I had no idea I was in for a treat
After this was established, everything was cool
The tour was over and she went back to school
I called every day to see how she was doin’
Everytime that I called her it seemed somethin’ was brewin’
I called her room a guy picked up, and then I called again
I said, “Yo, who was that?” “Oh, he’s just a friend”
Don’t gimme that, don’t ever gimme that
Jus’ bust this

You, you got what I need but you say he’s just a friend
And you say he’s just a friend, oh baby
You, you got what I need but you say he’s just a friend
But you say he’s just a friend, oh baby
You, you got what I need but you say he’s just a friend
But you say he’s just a friend

So I came to her college on a surprise visit
To see my girl that was so exquisite
It was a school day, I knew she was there
The first semester of the school year
I went to a gate to ask where was her dorm
This guy made me fill out a visitor’s form
He told me where it was and I as on my way
To see my baby doll, I was happy to say
I arrrived in front of the dormitory
Yo, could you tell me where is door three?
They showed me where it was for the moment
I didn’t know I was in for such an event
So I came to her room and opened the door
Oh, snap! Guess what I saw?
A fella tongue-kissin’ my girl in the mouth,
I was so in shock my heart went down south
So please listen to the message that I say
Don’t ever talk to a girl who says she just has a friend


2. All I Wanna Do Is Make Love to You

Heart

A woman has a one night stand to give her husband the child they so desperately want. years later, she runs into the one night stand — with the child. Can you say drama?

It was a rainy night when
he came into sight
Standing by the road, no umbrella,
no coat
So I pulled up along side and
I offered him a ride
He accepted with a smile
so we drove for a while
I didn’t ask him his name,
this lonely boy in the rain
Fate tell me it’s right,
is this love at first sight

All I wanna do is make love to you
Say you will
You want me too
All I wanna do is make love to you
I’ve got lovin’ arms to hold on to

So we found this hotel,
it was a place I knew well
We made magic that night.
Oh, he did everything right
He brought the woman out of me,
so many times, easily
And in the morning when he woke all
I left him was a note
I told him
“I am the flower you are the seed”
We walked in the garden
we planted a tree
Don’t try to find me,
please don’t you dare
Just live in my memory,
you’ll always be there

All I wanna do is make love to you
One night of love was all we knew
All I wanna do is make love to you
I’ve got lovin’ arms to hold on to

Oh, oooh, we made love
Love like strangers
All night long
We made love

Then it happened one day,
we came round the same way
You can imagine his surprise
when he saw his own eyes
I said “please, please understand
I’m in love with another man
And what he couldn’t give me
was the one little thing that you can”

All I wanna do is make love to you
One night of love was all we knew
All I wanna do is make love to you
Say you will, you want me too

All night long
All night long
All night long
All night long


3. On My Mind

Ellie Goulding

This song could inspire so many different stories! There are a lot of possibilities based on the lyrics. A girl doing a guy wrong. A girl who just wants to a casual relationship but then finds out the guy wants more. I could go on and on.

Oh, oh
Uh-oh-oh-oh
Eh

It’s a little blurry how the whole thing started
I don’t even really know what you intended
Thought that you were cute and you could make me jealous
Poured it down, so I poured it down
Next thing that I know I’m in a hotel with you
You were talking deep like it was mad love to you
You wanted my heart but I just liked your tattoos
Poured it down, so I poured it down

And now I don’t understand it
You don’t mess with love, you mess with the truth
And I know I shouldn’t say it
But my heart don’t understand

Why I got you on my mind
Why I got you on my mind
Why I got you on my mind
Why I got you on my mind
But my heart don’t understand
Why I got you on my mind
Why I got you on my mind
Why I got you on my mind
Why I got you on my mind

I always hear, always hear them talking
Talking ’bout a girl, ’bout a girl with my name
Saying that I hurt you but I still don’t get it
You didn’t love me, no, not really
Wait
I could have really liked you
I’ll bet, I’ll bet that’s why I keep on thinking ’bout you
It’s a shame (shame), you said I was good
So I poured it down, so I poured it down

And now I don’t understand it
You don’t mess with love, you mess with the truth
And I know I shouldn’t say it
But my heart don’t understand

Why I got you on my mind
Why I got you on my mind
Why I got you on my mind
Why I got you on my mind
But my heart don’t understand
Why I got you on my mind
You think you know somebody
Why I got you on my mind
You think you know somebody
Why I got you on my mind
You think you know somebody
Why I got you on my mi-i-i-i-ind

You got yourself in a dangerous zone
Cause we both have the fear, fear of being alone

And I still don’t understand it
You don’t mess with love, you mess with the truth
And my heart don’t understand it
Understand it, understand it

Why I got you on my mind
You think you know somebody
Why I got you on my mind
You think you know somebody
Why I got you on my mind
You think you know somebody
Why I got you on my mind
But my heart don’t understand
Why I got you on my mind
You think you know somebody
Why I got you on my mind
You think you know somebody
Why I got you on my mind
You think you know somebody
Why I got you on my mind
But my heart don’t understand
Why I got you on my mind
You think you know somebody
Why I got you on my mind
You think you know somebody
Why I got you on my mind
You think you know somebody
Why I got you on my mind

Uh, uh, uh, uh


4. Cry Me a River

Justin Timberlake

A guy finds out he gets cheated on and finds out. Then, he falls in love with a gorgeous actress…

You were my sun
You were my earth
But you didn’t know all the ways I loved you, no
So you took a chance
And made other plans
But I bet you didn’t think that they would come crashing down, no

You don’t have to say, what you did,
I already know, I found out from him
Now there’s just no chance, for you and me, there’ll never be
And don’t it make you sad about it

You told me you loved me
Why did you leave me, all alone
Now you tell me you need me
When you call me, on the phone
Girl I refuse, you must have me confused
With some other guy
Your bridges were burned, and now it’s your turn
To cry, cry me a river
Cry me a river-er
Cry me a river
Cry me a river-er, yea yea

I know that they say
That somethings are better left unsaid
It wasn’t like you only talked to him and you know it
(Don’t act like you don’t know it)
All of these things people told me
Keep messing with my head
(Messing with my head)
You should’ve picked honesty
Then you may not have blown it
(Yea..)

You don’t have to say, what you did,
(Don’t have to say, what you did)
I already know, I found out from him
(I already know, uh)
Now there’s just no chance, for you and me, there’ll never be
(No chance, you and me)
And don’t it make you sad about it

You told me you loved me
Why did you leave me, all alone
(All alone)
Now you tell me you need me
When you call me, on the phone
(When you call me on the phone)
Girl I refuse, you must have me confused
With some other guy
(I’m not like them baby)
Your bridges were burned, and now it’s your turn
(It’s your turn)
To cry, cry me a river
(Go on and just)
Cry me a river-er
(Go on and just)
Cry me a river
(Baby go on and just)
Cry me a river-er, yea yea

Oh
(Oh)
The damage is done
So I guess I be leaving
Oh
(Oh)
The damage is done
So I guess I be leaving
Oh
(Oh)
The damage is done
So I guess I be leaving
Oh
(Oh)
The damage is done
So I guess I be… leaving

You don’t have to say, what you did,
(Don’t have to say, what you did)
I already know, I found out from him
(I already know, uh)
Now there’s just no chance, for you and me, there’ll never be
(No chance, you and me)
And don’t it make you sad about it

Cry me a river
(Go on and just)
Cry me a river-er
(Baby go on and just)
Cry me a river
(You can go on and just)
Cry me a river-er, yea yea

Cry me a river
(Baby go on and just)
Cry me a river-er
(Go on and just)
Cry me a river
(Cause I’ve already cried)
Cry me a river-er, yea yea
(Ain’t gonna cry no more, yea-yea)

Cry me a river
Cry me a river, oh
Cry me a river, oh
Cry me a river, oh

Cry me a river, oh
(Cry me, cry me)
Cry me a river, oh
(Cry me, cry me)
Cry me a river, oh
(Cry me, cry me)
Cry me a river, oh
(Cry me, cry me)

Cry me a river, oh
(Cry me, cry me)
Cry me a river, oh
(Cry me, cry me)
Cry me a river
(Cry me, cry me)


5. You Belong to Me

Taylor Swift

Best friends to lovers? Yes, please.

You’re on the phone with your girlfriend
She’s upset
She’s going off about something that you said
‘Cause she doesn’t get your humor like I do
I’m in my room
It’s a typical Tuesday night
I’m listening to the kind of music she doesn’t like
And she’ll never know your story like I do’

But she wears short skirts
I wear T-shirts
She’s cheer captain
And I’m on the bleachers
Dreaming about the day when you wake up
And find that what you’re looking for has been here the whole time

If you can see I’m the one who understands you
Been here all along so why can’t you see
You belong with me
You belong with me

Walkin’ the streets with you and your worn-out jeans
I can’t help thinking this is how it ought to be
Laughing on a park bench, thinking to myself
Hey isn’t this easy

And you’ve got a smile that could light up this whole town
I haven’t seen it in a while since she brought you down
You say your fine
I know you better then that
Hey what you doing with a girl like that

She wears high heels
I wear sneakers
She’s cheer captain and I’m on the bleachers
Dreaming about the day when you wake up
And find that what what you’re looking for has been here the whole time

If you can see that I’m the one who understands you
Been here all along so why can’t you see
You belong with me

Standing by and waiting at your back door
All this time how could you not know
Baby, you belong with me
You belong with me

Oh, I remember you drivin’ to my house in the middle of the night
I’m the one who makes you laugh
When you know you’re about to cry
And I know your favorite songs
And you tell me about your dreams
I think I know where you belong
I think I know it’s with me

Can’t you see that I’m the one who understands you
Been here all along so why can’t you see
You belong with me

Standing by and waiting at your back door
All this time
How could you not know
Baby you belong with me
You belong with me

You belong with me
Have you ever thought just maybe
You belong with me
You belong with me


6. One

Ed Sheeran

A girl is engaged to one guy, but still has feelings for another. The other guy begs her not to get married and be with him.

Tell me that you turned down the man
Who asked for your hand
‘Cause you’re waiting for me
And I know, you’re gonna be away a while
But I’ve got no plans at all to leave

And would you take away my hopes and dreams and just stay with me?

All my senses come to life
While I’m stumbling home as drunk as I
Have ever been and I’ll never leave again
‘Cause you are the only one
And all my friends have gone to find
Another place to let their hearts collide
[Regular version:] Just promise me, you’ll never leave again
[Acoustic version:] Just promise me, you’ll always be a friend
‘Cause you are the only one

Take my hand and my
Heart and soul, I will
Only have these eyes for you
And you know, everything changes but
We’ll be strangers if we see this through
You could stay within these walls and bleed
Or just stay with me
Oh lord, now

All my senses come to life
While I’m stumbling home as drunk as I
Have ever been and I’ll never leave again
‘Cause you are the only one
And all my friends have gone to find
Another place to let their hearts collide
Just promise me, you’ll always be a friend
‘Cause you are the only one

I’m stumbling off drunk, getting myself lost
I am so gone, so tell me the way home
I listen to sad songs, singing about love
And where it goes wrong

All my senses come to life
While I’m stumbling home as drunk as I
Have ever been and I’ll never leave again
‘Cause you are the only one
And all my friends have gone to find
Another place to let their hearts collide
Just promise me, you’ll always be a friend
‘Cause you are the only one


7.  Ex to See

Sam Hunt

A guy and girl are using each other to make their exes jealous but end up falling in love.

Well there ain’t enough smoke in my eyes
To hide the kinda games you’re trying to play
Honey don’t you act so surprised
You know exactly what I’m bout to say
You kiss my lips, like you mean it
But you ain’t that slick

Everywhere we go you keep looking around
Fixing your make up like its about to go down
And he walks in, it all makes sense
Suddenly you’re climbing all up next to me, next to me
I ain’t no fool, you rascal you
You don’t want me, you just want your ex to see, ex to see
Woahh woahhh woahh ohhh

So thats why when I pick you up
You always want me to drive your car
So I can leave mine at your house
And he can wonder where you are
You’re right here
Looking sexy whispering in my ear

Everywhere we go you keep looking around
Fixing your make up like its about to go down
And he walks in, it all makes sense
Suddenly you’re climbing all up next to me, next to me
I ain’t no fool, you rascal you
You don’t want me you just want your ex to see, ex to see
Woahh oh woah oh woah ohhh oh

Girl you look kinda cute, called out
You’re making it hard to have hard feelings for you now
So hey, did he really do you wrong
Hmm
I guess I can play along
I guess I can play along
He walks in, it all makes sense
Suddenly you’re climbing all up next to me, next to me
I ain’t no fool, you rascal you
Girl come here and kiss me
I just want your ex to see
Woahh oh woah oh woahhh
I just want your ex to see
Ex to see, ex to see


8. Somewhere on a Beach

Dierks Bentley

A guy’s girlfriend breaks up with him, so he goes on vacation and meets an awesome girl.

Bet you think I'm sitting at home, no!
Bet you think that I'm all alone, no!
Bet you think I'm missing you and wishing you would call my phone,
Hell, no!
I went wheels up on a runway
And that ticket was a long way
I'm somewhere on a beach
Sipping something strong,
Got a new girl, she got it going on
We drink all day, and party all night
I'm way too good to have you on my mind
Well, she got a body and she's naughty,
and she got me like you ain't never got me
Getting sun, getting sun, and I ain't slept in a week
Yeah, I'm somewhere on a beach.
Heard you called my boys,
Heard you called my folks
They said you drove by my house real slow
You can check every spot, roll down every road
But girl, I ain't even close
I'm somewhere on a beach
Sipping something strong,
Got a new girl, she got it going on
We drink all day, and party all night
I'm way too good to have you on my mind
Well, she got a body and she's naughty,
and she got me like you ain't never got me
Getting sun, getting sun, and I ain't slept in a week
Yeah, I'm somewhere on a beach.
I wish it could've worked out
But I'm gettin' over you now,
On a beach towel
With my shades on
My drink's up
And the sun's out
Huh! somewhere on a beach!
[guitars break]
I'm somewhere on a beach
Sipping something strong,
Got a new girl, she got it going on
We drink all day, and party all night
I'm way too good to have you on my mind
Well, she got a body and she's naughty,
and she got me like you ain't never got me
Getting sun, getting sun, and I ain't slept in a week
Yeah, I'm somewhere on a beach
Yeah, I'm somewhere on a beach


9. Jack & Diane

John Mellencamp

I just want to know more about Jack and Diane.

Little ditty about Jack and Diane
Two American kids growin’ up in the heartland
Jackie gonna be a football star
Diane debutante backseat of Jackie’s car

Suckin’ on chili dogs outside the tastee freeze
Diane’s sittin’ on Jackie’s lap
He’s got his hand between her knees
Jackie say, hey, Diane
Let’s run off behind a shady trees
Dribble off those Bobby Brooks
Let me do what I please
Say a

Oh yeah, life goes on
Long after the thrill of livin’ is gone
Say a
Oh yeah, life goes on
Long after the thrill of livin’ is gone
They walk on

Jackie sits back
Reflects his thoughts for the moment
Scratches his head
And does his best James Dean
Well you know, Diane
We oughta run off to the city
Diane says, baby
You ain’t missin’ nuth-in
Jackie, say-a

Oh yeah, life goes on
Long after the thrill of livin’ is gone
Oh yeah, I say, life goes on
Long after the thrill of livin’ is gone

Gonna let it rock
Let it roll
Let the Bible Belt come
And save my soul
Hold on to sixteen as long as you can
Changes come around real soon
Make us women and men

Oh yeah, life goes on
Long after the thrill of livin’ is gone
Oh yeah, I say, life goes on
Long after the thrill of livin’ is gone

Little ditty about Jack and Diane
Two American kids done the best they can


10. Single for the Summer

Sam Hunt

A guy breaks up with his girlfriend because he wants to have fun. Turns out he can’t get her out of his mind.

The new years getting older, the February roses are withered away
The sun keeps getting closer, sinking a little slower everyday
Ooo it’s getting louder at the lights, music clashing in the street, moon shining on the parking lot dolls
Tanned legs in the nights, sliding out of the sea, stilettos at the crosswalk
I graduated but every year in May I get that ‘schools out’ feeling
I feel it creeping in every day’s a weekend and I’m drowning in the freedom

[Chorus:]
Blame it on the bikinis, party girls, and martinis and the sunshine
Private school daughters that never go under water, keeping their hair just right
I know in September, I’m a remember how much I love her
I’m single for the suh-uh-uh single for the summer

I’ve gone off the deep end, the company I’m keeping is messing me up
The good girls at home sleeping, while I’m out creeping til the sun comes up
Ooo I’ve got my phone faced down, and my hair combed back, riding round getting good at the game
Saying the wrong things right, chasing midtown girls holding hands and forgetting their names
I graduated but every year in May I get that ‘schools out’ feeling
Don’t wanna leave and pretend that I’m not a cheater and I can’t help leaving

[Chorus:]
Blame it on the bikinis, party girls, and martinis and the sunshine
Private school daughters that never go under water keeping their hair just right
I know in September, I’m a remember how much I love her
I’m single for the suh-uh-uh single for the summer
All of these pretty young thangs (pretty young thangs)
Can make you forget a goodbye’s sad
Tryin’ to make a good guy bad

[Chorus:]
Blame it on the bikinis, party girls, and martinis and the sunshine
Private school daughters that never go under water keeping their hair just right
I know in September, I’m a remember how much I love her
I’m single for the suh-uh-uh single for the summer
I’m single for the suh-uh-uh single for the summer

Why do I love all of these city girls
Why do I love all of these city girls
Why do I love all of these city girls with pretty eyes, down on Demonbreun
Broken hearted rich girls, the debutantes, the small town runaways
All dolled up at the bar, with debit cards, they don’t know how pretty they are
City girls, city girls


Would you want to read any of these books?

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Songs I Wish Were Books

  1. One ❤ That song is so beautiful. I absolutely adore it and it would definitely make for a great/emotional book. Now you can't go wrong with a good Sam Hunt tune; they're fun and flirty and would make great contemporaries. And yes I would like to know more about Jack & Diane haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

