Review: Blocked by Jennifer Lane

23110334Title: Blocked

Series: Blocked, #1

Author: Jennifer Lane

Publication Date: October 24, 2014

Publisher: Psyched Publishing

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary Romance, Political Fiction

Goodreads Synopsis:

College freshman Lucia Ramirez has a secret crush on Dane Monroe. He’s a tall drink of water — blond, brash, and one hell of a volleyball player. ¡Híjole! Lucia hopes her volleyball scholarship to his school will make him notice her.

Too bad what’s noticeable is Dane’s obvious hatred for Lucia. Her family’s politics contradict everything he stands for. And politics are front and center in both their families. Dane’s mother is about to face Lucia’s father in the race for US President.

When Secret Service throws them together, Dane can’t deny his frustrating attraction to Lucia’s athletic curves and sweet faith in the world. Amid the intense pressure of college athletics and presidential politics, can opposites not just attract, but overcome overwhelming odds to be together? Or do their differences block their match from the start?


4 / 5 Stars


 

What originally drew me to Blocked was the cover. I love sports related romances and I was intrigued by the volleyball. I had never read a romance centered around the sport, so I was excited to see how it would play into the story.

Several things surprised me about Blocked. First, the amount of volleyball in the book. Second, the parts psychology and beliefs played in the story. Third, how politics and family worked into it all. Blocked had so many different components going on.

Blocked was unlike typical New Adult sports romances I’ve read, where the romance is heavy and the sport is light. Several scenes featuring the sport were showcased throughout the book. It helped to develop the characters and explain their actions.

At first, I didn’t like Lucia. Her poor body image and low self-confidence drove me nuts. I could relate to it, but at the same time it frustrated me because–Hello! Lucia’s a college athlete. You have to be in darn good shape to be a college volleyball player. But as the book went on, I grew to understand her thinking and the psychology aspect of it all. I ended up liking her character and how she triumphed over her problems.

Dane was the quintessential New Adult jock. I loved him from the beginning. He was hot, cocky and talented. Dane also had problems of his own, but they didn’t quite move me the way Lucia’s did.

My favorite parts of the story were when Dane and Lucia gave into their feelings for each other. I loved the slow-burn of their romance and how they took care of each other.

What really made this book interesting and different, though, was the Presidential race between Lucia’s Republican dad and Dane’s Democrat mom. It influenced everything the two did, from their actions on the court to their feelings for each other. Neither wanted to fall for someone of the “wrong” political party. I loved the way they worked through their many different beliefs to come to an understanding so they could have a relationship. It made me wish more of the world could do the same.

My only major complaint about Blocked was the ending. I would have liked more than I got.

**I received an electronic copy of Blocked from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Review: Blocked by Jennifer Lane

  1. Pingback: Review: Aced By Jennifer Lane |

Leave a Reply

