Top Ten Tuesday: I Love You/I Hate You

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly feature created at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is Ten Characters Everyone Loves But I Just Don’t Get or Ten Characters I LOVE But Others Seem To Dislike. I’m going to split the topic into 5 for each this time.


Five Characters I Love But Others Hate

1. Jacob Black, The Twilight Saga

41865

He may not have ended up with the girl, but it doesn’t matter to me. For some reason, New Moon endeared him to me. Plus, he’s LIVING.

2. Garrett Graham, The Deal

24920901

Joey explained to me all of the reasons Garrett is a horrible love interest and I have to admit he’s kind of onto something, but I can’t help it. I love me some Garrett Graham!

3. Miles Archer, Ugly Love

17788401

Miles can be a complete douchebag. I’m willing to look past it because of the reasons behind his douchebaggery.

4. Amy Dunne, Gone Girl

19288043

She was an evil bitch, but dang she was crafty!

5. Ridge & Sidney, Maybe Someday

17788403

I combined these two because you wouldn’t hate them if it wasn’t for their relationship with each other. I don’t condone what they did, but I still love them together.


Five Characters Everyone Loves But I Don’t Get

1. Edward, Twilight

41865

Edward is DEAD. He literally sucks the life out of people. I wouldn’t want him for my boyfriend. I don’t hate him or anything, but I don’t love him. (Sorry, Jesse! I know I said I’d leave your bae alone, but I had a hard time thinking of characters to pick. Please forgive me! 😉 )

2. Four, Divergent

13335037

I don’t know. I just didn’t connect with Four. There’s nothing especially bad or good about him to me. He’s just kind of blah.

3. Cricket, Lola and the Boy Next Door

99617961

I loved Lola, but I thought Cricket was kind of lame.

4. Peeta and/or Gale, The Hunger Games

2767052

I never rooted for either of these guys. Peeta just seemed too bland compared to Katniss and she never truly saw Gale as more than a friend. There’s no reason to be Team Gale or Team Peeta.

5. Étienne St. Clair, Anna and the French Kiss

69363821

I don’t get why everyone is so gaga over St. Clair. I don’t want to spoil it for those people who haven’t read it, but I didn’t think he was a stand up guy. Maybe it would have helped if some of his point of view would have been included. Probably not.

38 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: I Love You/I Hate You

  1. Even if I was always a Peeta girl, I have to say that you’re right: there shouldn’t even be guys and teams in that book, it’s not about love, it’s about survival, and this whole love triangle situation just isn’t meant to exist, haha.So I guess I agree with you anyway on that? 🙂 Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG yes! Ridge and Sydney are LOVE. I adore Ridge despite all the criticism the story gets. As you, I don’t justify cheating and I’m not okay with it, but what that story tells goes beyond that. I think falling in love with someone else while being in a relationship is something happens every day.

    Great TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This whole idea of shipping wars/teams is one of the reasons I cannot tolerate love triangles. Nothing good comes out of them haha.
    I seem to have a love/hate relationship with Colleen Hoover. I loved Hopeless but I just cannot get in to Ugly Love and Maybe Someday.

    Like

  4. Great list! I definitely agree with Gale and Four – both characters I couldn’t stand by the last book. But I have to admit that I love both Lola and Cricket and that they are actually my favourite couple from the series by far! Peeta is another I love, but I do like your point about there not being teams – I’m not a fan of love triangles!
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

