Making A Move: anovelglimpse.com

Hi friends,

Today, I sort of impulsively decided to move my blog over to www.anovelglimpse.com. I said to myself, why not just go for it? I’m hoping the switch will go smoothly both for me and for my followers. *crosses fingers*

I’ve migrated all of my followers over from anovelglimpse.wordpress.com. My email subscribers will continue to receive emails when I post,Β but my WP followers will need to sign up to follow by email if you would like to continue to receive updates when I post. You’ll still see my posts in your WP Reader, even if you don’t sign up to follow by email.

I have to admitΒ that I’m kind of freaking out right now! Lol.

Deanna

32 thoughts on “Making A Move: anovelglimpse.com

  1. HI,
    I have just found your blog; it seems pretty cool, so I followed you.
    I am trying to get a bigger audience, so please check my blog and follow me back if you want.
    while you’re there, check out the awesome giveaway I found (8 signed YA books, and 150$ Amazon card)
    thank you.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Hi! So I recently reached 500 followers on my blog and I am putting together a list of blogs to give a shoutout to! I would love to feature your website and I was hoping to get a little info from you.
    I would like to know if you’re on instagram as a book account and if you’re on Goodreads? If you are can I get your usernames so I can feature them in the post as well? A book recommendation for everyone would be awesome too! Thanks so much!
    Nicole ❀

    Liked by 3 people

    • Hi, Nicole! That is so sweet of you. I am not on insta, but I am on Goodreads. My username is Deanna (A Novel Glimpse). It looks like you might have commented on my “old” page. My “new” site is http://anovelglimpse.com. As for a book recommendation, I recently read Four Letter Word by J. Daniels and really enjoyed it. πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for thinking of me! That is so sweet of you. And congrats on your 500 followers! That’s AMAZING!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Corina. Welcome to the blogging community! There are some pluses and minuses to both WP hosted and self-hosted. WP is a super easy way to get started. I liked that my Twitter followers were included in my followers count through WP hosted. I made the switch to self-hosting because I wanted to own my content and have more control over how my blog looked. I think either way is good. It did cost $ to become self-hosted where WP hosted is free. That’s a quick answer, but does it help at all?

      Like

      • Absolutely!!! Thank you so much for taking the time. I loved how easy it was to set up a blog. I still had stuff I need to google, like extra plugins etc.. But overall it was pretty painless.;-) On the other hand I did see a few blogs which much more convenient and additional content that I would love to include as well. But I might have to wait with that. I think it’s perfect for the beginning. When you say you own the content, what does that really mean?

        Liked by 2 people

      • When I looked into switching to self-hosting I had read some stuff that WP owns your content and could erase it at any time if they wanted. I’m not sure how true that is. It freaked me out a bit and so I kind of just haphazardly switched. But there’s tons of people out there that don’t self-host, so it’s probably not an issue.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

